Skip to content

getting my fitness and fashion on

October 24, 2009

Often times I talk about my giddiness and glee that I am filled with when I get a comment, receive something in the mail related to blogging, get an e-mail reply, or make a new friend.  Well, this week was full of Glee.  The latest episode had me giggling the entire time!  Is anyone else much in love with Noah, Will and Finn?  I thought Will was my fave, but Noah is making a very fast strong impression.  Mmm.. :)

Coming home was just that: filled with glee.  My week was full of good things to dance about.  First off I received my oat bowl and the “I Eat Real Food.” tee shirt I ordered, which I so fashionably wore on my first three mile run on Wednesday afternoon.  I ran my second three miles with my mama on Friday morning.  We’re running a 5k  a week from Sunday, for our FIRST run ever.  Surprisingly I’m doing better than I thought.  I do not like running.  I won’t pretend to like it, but I’m hoping gradually I’ll learn to like it.  Slowly, but surely.  I’m not looking to run a marathon, but we’ll see where it takes me.  I also tried my first Bikram yoga class yesterday at a real studio.  You know the old saying “you don’t know what you got till its gone”?  Making my return to Tucson is kind of like that.  Tucson is a runner’s, yogi’s, outdoor enthusiast’s oasis of a city.  Yet I never took advantage of the beautiful weather, numerous yoga studios, or my own neighborhood the first 18 years of my life.  Sure.. I went to the gym, used the elliptical, and practiced yoga, at my gym; but since moving away my world has been completely rocked.  There is so much to do here!

My first bowl of oat bran!  YUM!  This actually lasted longer than my bowl of oats.  Tres filling!

  • 1/2 cup oat bran, 1 cup water, 1/2 banana, cinnamon, splash vanilla
  • Topped with shredded coconut, t coconut butter, spoonful AB

DSCF0224

Dinner I fixed for the fam: Grilled chicken, raw kale salad (literally only raw kale, olive oil, lemon juice, red pepper flakes and grated parmesan.) and roasted butternut squash!

DSCF0221

Americano, two poached eggs and 1/2 a english muffin with AB and a drizzle of honey.

DSCF0219

Dinner- sometimes a protein drink is all you need!  Delicious.  (1 scoop vanilla, 1 cup water, ice.)

100_6822

Later I did make kale chips though!  1/2 batch plain, and 1/2 batch Averie style.  We loved both!  Craazy good, that kale.

DSCF0212

DSCF0210

Post run.  :)

171153

171237

Big salad: spring mix, carrot, cucumber, yellow pepper, jicama, a couple grapes sliced, chicken, olive oil and balsamic.  Celery and 2 T homemade hummus on the side.

100_6815

Oatmeal I fixed for myself and my parents.  A la, Kath:  with french press coffee and the added chia seeds!  (BTW, my parents said the oats were too rich and they could hardly finish them.  Word to the wise:  You’re supposed to eat them slowly. That’s the best part!)

100_6812

In the mix: (1 serving)

  • 1/2 cup oats, hemp milk, water, 1/2 banana, 1/2 T chia seeds, splash vanilla
  • Topped with carob chips, t coconut butter, spoonful of crunchy PB

I let them choose their own toppings!

100_6807

Question for you all: I’m only going to be in town for three months, are there specific jobs that would hire for seasonal help?  I have a few leads, but I’m still trying to get as many options as possible.  Do I tell them I’m leaving eventually, or do I keep that information to myself?

Also, I’m gonna hit up Trader Joe’s in a few days.. are there any products I must try that I can’t get at WF’s? Another place I took advantage of my entire life. Not anymore!

xo, Bekah

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 2:21 pm

    How did you like bikram?! Hmm definitely try clothing stores for seasonal work since the next few months for them will be a gong show because of xmas.

  2. October 24, 2009 2:58 pm

    Lovin’ the all the KERF gear :-D

  3. October 24, 2009 3:06 pm

    Thanks for the shoutout Bekah! I am so glad to hear you liked the kale chips AND That they worked for you in the oven.

    And I totally agree about absence making the heart grow fonder. You appreciate that which you used to take for granted sometimes when you’re away from it. Part of that is blossoming into an adult and growing…how awesome for you!

    Enjoy yoga and your running. Bikram is not my personal fave b/c I dont love the artificial heat thing but the important part is the YOU enjoy whatever yoga you’re doing :)

  4. October 24, 2009 6:37 pm

    i love your bowl and shirt! and the kale chips look even better. i cant wait to finalyl try some myself. hopefully i can find it soon.
    glad to hear you did some birkram yoga. whatever works for you is best ;)

  5. October 24, 2009 7:10 pm

    First bowl of oat bran?!? I love oat bran. It is SO filling. As for jobs – Gap would probably hire just for the season.

  6. greensandjeans permalink
    October 25, 2009 8:03 am

    Yay for more Arizona love! I’m actually headed down to Tucson to do a half marathon with my mom a week from Sunday! I’d definitely check retail jobs for seasonal work because they are all gearing up for the holiday season.

    • October 25, 2009 1:17 pm

      You’re actually doing the same race I think! (Who knows though.) Except I’m doing the 5k portion. So cool! Good luck with the half marathon. Craaazy.

  7. Lyss permalink
    October 25, 2009 9:11 am

    Hahaha, this post reads like a KERF ad! I love it! And you had me at “GLEE” – LOVEEEEEE IT.

  8. October 25, 2009 12:42 pm

    I love the shirt and I love the food that you eat in this blog!I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I just wanted to say I had so much fun reading your posts.I’d love to guide our readers to your site if you won’t mind.Just add your choice of foodista widget to this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

    • October 25, 2009 1:20 pm

      Aw thanks! And I love the foodista website! I’m surprised I don’t think I’ve never been on there before. Adding the widget is easy enough. :) Thanks.

  9. October 25, 2009 1:59 pm

    Keep up the running, and I bet eventually you’ll fall in love with it. At least I did. How’d you like the Bikram? It’s definitely different than other styles of yoga. And I def. know what you mean about not know what you got until its gone! I’m home for the weekend and compared to Philly, I feel like I’m living in a painting!

  10. October 26, 2009 2:39 pm

    I’m so glad you stopped by my site girly!!! You seem like so much fun :) I’ve GOT to check out this show, Glee! I’m a total High School Musical Fan, and I heard it’s kind of like it?? Or maybe I’m just making that up idk lol.

    Hope you have a wonderful week chica!!! Love all of the KERF goodies. :)

  11. November 5, 2009 10:40 am

    Thanks for this…it says it all …and very well.

Leave a Reply

