Skip to content

chocolate+pumpkin

October 26, 2009

DSCF0327

Holy deliciousness, no?!

Today, I got my bake on.  Inspired by not having a working oven, vita-mix or food processor the last three months, I decided to bake.  When I bake, I healthy bake.  I don’t like using white sugar, white flour, wheat in general, dairy or buckets of vegetable oil in my finished products.  Unless I’m working or creating something for an event I don’t generally bake for myself.  I got desserted out when I was working at the restaurant.  Naturally because I was the pastry girl.  I love sweets, but when I’m around them all day I CANNOT HELP MYSELF.  As far as bad habits go, I’d like to think I would be grazer rather than a binger… but when I bake, I binge.  Show me a bowl of cream cheese frosting, and wa-bam!  Tablespoon here, tablespoon there, and already I’ve consumed 500+ calories.  It’s disgusting.  Cue decision of NOT WANTING TO BE A PASTRY CHEF.  A gourmet, healthy baker a la Bethenny Frankel?  Maybe.  Owning my own bakery and hiring someone to do the dirty work for me, a la Angela?  Sure.  But I hope to never touch refined, processed sweets with my own fingers again.  (Ah, yes, culinary school.)  Dammit.

When I choose to bake, I cut back on my other meals that day.  I eat lots of veggies and protein so I feel full, and not full of sweets. Binging on raw dough on the occasion will not kill you, so I accept the fact that I’ll consume a little bit more on these days, but I make up for it in my eating plans the next day or two.

Today I made Bekah original recipes!  *Applause*

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies. The BeekEats! Way.

DSCF0302

If only that were my bowl of oats.  Mwahahaha. Yum.

DSCF0300

DSCF0301

DSCF0305

Just a smidge of the dough that was consumed.  :/  A little bit of QC?  Success.

DSCF0320

DSCF0319

DSCF0326

They turned out so good!

BeekEats!  Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies:

Recipe adapted from Bethenny Frankel from her book, Naturally Thin.

  • 1 1/2 cups oat flour
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 t each of baking powder, and baking soda
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup total of honey+maple syrup (depends on how much maple flavor you like)
  • 1/3 cup hemp milk
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 11/2 t cinnamon

Mix dry, mix wet, mix together!  Bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes. That simple.

I also tried a new experiment of chocolate granola!  It could use a few more test runs, but what’s a girl to do with so much crack chocolate granola on hand?  I’d eat it all.

DSCF0315

DSCF0310

DSCF0312

I’d use this on top chocolate protein greek yogurt, mocha oats, choco-java smoothie, or even pumpkin cocoa pancakes.  Or just plain!

BeekEats! Chocolate Granola:

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 3 T cocoa
  • 1/2 cup walnut halves/pieces
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 2 t instant espresso powder
  • 1/2 cup total honey+maple syrup heated on stove top
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips or carob chips

I mix all the dry ingredients except coconut and chocolate chips.  I pour the heated syrup over the oats, and mix well.  Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes, mixing up the granola half way.  I add the coconut with 10 minutes to go.  I add the chocolate after it’s finished in the oven!  Let cool, it’s hot! :)

On top of those recipes, I tried out this gal’s raw vegan chocolate chip cookie dough As if granola and pumpkin cookies weren’t enough. Let me tell you, this recipe TASTES LIKE COOKIE DOUGH. I give it a holy yum!, on the scale of ‘wow, that’s gross’ to ‘holy yum’. Naturally. I put em in my freezer for a go to chocolate fix.

Tip of the week: GIVEAWAYS! I love fall, and check these out:
101 post giveaway for Miss Katharina.
Averie is giving away a lot of Loooottt.
Some eggcellent stuff over at Eating Bird Food.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2009 6:22 pm

    Holy deliciousness YES! :-D

  2. October 26, 2009 6:36 pm

    OMG those look GREAT. And gluten free b/c you used oats and oat flour, no egg to sub out for, no dairy…girl, I love you!!!!!!!

    And you know what, I just cracked a can of pumpkin today and was thinking what am I gonna do with that other half a can…well, I think I know! Later in the week like Wed or Thurs maybe I will get busy on these…cuz right now I am loaded with sweets. It’s nuts :)

  3. October 26, 2009 11:00 pm

    wow this looks amazing! love it! hope they taste just as good as they look. or maybe even better ;)
    xoxo

  4. October 27, 2009 7:10 am

    Oh I love you, you speak both “Pumpkin” and “Chocolate!”

  5. October 27, 2009 7:32 pm

    Mm, looks good…I used to bake like every other day, mostly for other people…but I started gaining some weight from too much sampling which has put me on a temporary baking hiatus haha.

  6. October 28, 2009 3:54 pm

    I just love the sound of that granola! I have yet to try making my own, but I need to get on that!

    Haha, loved your comment about limits and Mean Girls. There are only 8 students (including me!) in my Calculus class, and we ALL yelled out “MEAN GIRLS!” when our teacher mentions limits. Total classic! ;)

    xxoo
    Heather

  7. October 28, 2009 7:56 pm

    I feel like I’m missing out on something because I’ve never actually had pumpkin and chocolate together! Crazy, right?!

    Everything looks fantastic! Thank you for the recipes :)

  8. Katharina permalink
    October 28, 2009 8:47 pm

    Oh my gosh those sound great! And I feel like a total butthead for falling behind on your wonderful blog. Can I just say how adorable you are?? You’d make the cutest and best pastry chef, but I understand that it can be difficult lol. I have this problem where I put the bowl of raw dough in the sink and fill it with water.. then I realize what I have done and I get kinda bummed because cookie dough is the best.

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  9. October 28, 2009 9:46 pm

    i’m so glad you finally commented on my blog so i could discover this yumminess….that granola recipe is bananas (aka awesome, don’t add bananas)

  10. October 29, 2009 10:34 am

    yum! looks so great! i want some right now!! hey, im natale. just found your blog. So excited to read more. You are too cute and so fun to read!!

  11. October 29, 2009 11:04 am

    these look delicious! pumpkin is seriously like one of the best baking substitutes – it retains so much moisture and gives everything a delish flavor!

  12. October 30, 2009 2:04 pm

    chocolate and pumpkin is a beautiful combo!
    try candied ginger with it.. excellent.

    great recipe <3 xo

  13. November 5, 2009 12:46 pm

    I love your pumpkin chocolate chip cookies – yummy! yummy!

  14. Kristen Rutkowski permalink
    February 1, 2010 8:31 pm

    ok, so I just made the pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. I was out of pumpkin so I used a banana that I put in the food processor. The dough was a little runny from this, so I baked it in an 8×8 pan to make bars. YUMMMMMMMM!!!!

  15. March 8, 2010 1:33 am

    Your blog is presh, Bekah :)
    You make food so trendy! ha.

Trackbacks

  1. Productivity & Protein « Beek Eats!

Leave a Reply

