Skip to content

some more firsts

November 2, 2009

I’m writing this post as my very first kabocha squash is roasting in the oven with maple syrup and cinnamon.  To say I am excited would be an understatement.

Along my other firsts: I ran my first run this weekend!  My mom, her best friend Nicole, and her friend, Eden and I ran a 5k put on by Everyone Runs Tucson. It was really fun! I loved the positive energy at the race, and we already signed up for our next one. The next race is 8 miles, so today Nicole and I did a 3 mile track at the park twice around. I didn’t run the whole 6, but it wasn’t too bad either. I can’t say I love running yet; but I love the way it makes me feel.

5k3

My mama, me, Eden, Nicole.

5k4

^Post run. ;) My time was 35:09, at a 11:19 min/mile pace.  Today though for 3 miles, I came around 28-30 minutes though.  I don’t think I went all out, because it was my first race, and I didn’t know what to expect; plus there were a few added hills.  I think I’ll definitely beat it next time though!

We went out to breakfast afterward.  I had an egg white frittata with sun dried tomatoes, mushrooms, spinach and feta with roasted red potatoes.  I ate a little more than half, minus some cheese (they put SO much on- which I can’t handle).  Toast wasn’t even necessary.  Coffee was, as usual.

DSCF0404

Lunch later in the day: chicken curry from the market, cut raw veggies and spicy walnut hummus from the Whole Foods deli.  (One of my favorite store bought hummus’s that I fell in love with in San Diego.)

DSCF0413

A little slice of homemade apple pie from my neighbors. :)

DSCF0417

My pre-Halloween outing snack: Fuji sliced thin with cinnamon, spoonful of AB, protein drink (1 scoop vanilla, a little water, a little unsweetened chocolate almond milk, ice)

DSCF0395

Halloween, post interview lunch: Homemade tuna salad, raw kale salad from WF (I make mine better), veggies, a pickle, spicy walnut hummus.

DSCF0389

Pre-interview and workout breakfast: French presssss coffee with whipped banana oats:

  • 1/2 cup oats,1 cup water, vanilla, cinnamon, 1 t chia seeds
  • topped with 1 t peanuts, 1 t white chocolate chips, spoonful chunky PB

DSCF0386

DSCF0384

Got my Halloween goodies on: Raw vegan cookie dough, and pumpkin cookie dough (adapted) with coffee/bitter hot cocoa.  (LOOK AT THAT FOAM.)

DSCF0392

Friday a very yummy bowl of yogurt. 1 plain chobani+1/2 honeycrisp+1 T coconut+1 chocolate protein truffle crumbled+2 T chocolate granola

DSCF0375

DSCF0378

I had lunch down by the university with my two bestss at Time Market.  If (and when) I had/have a nice camera, I will/would probably do a full post on my love of this market.  It literally has my favorite deli case in town, my favorite pizza in town, my favorite espresso in town with the added plus of free wifi and fun people watching and numerous specialty grocery items and produce.  I go there when I have nothing else to do.  Seriously.

For 3 dollars I got a substantial amount of chicken curry salad and an organic pear plus free samples of cheese+crackers.

DSCF0367

DSCF0369

Later I got my dark chocolate+espresso fix.  This americano costs 1.60 .  It doesn’t get much better than that!

DSCF0370

Cheers to lunch with the gal pals, new running goals and the start of NOVEMBER!  November and February are not only my favorite months of weather, but also my favorite months for holidays.  (Thanksgiving and my birthday.)

17 days till the NEW MOON premiere!!! Do I have any other Twihard bloggies (or non-bloggies) anxiously awaiting this premiere?  If anything I know you must swoon at the sight of Rob Pattinson on the cover of Us Weekly or Vanity Fair.  Please, tell me you do.

Giveaways!
Danica is giving away Nature’s Path goodies.
Kristin is giving away globars!
The frugal foodie is giving away lots of cereal!

Kabocha was out of this world by the way. ;)

xo,
Bekah

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 7:31 pm

    AWESOME race time!!

    Robert Pattinson = **swoon** ;)

  2. November 2, 2009 8:50 pm

    congrats on the race!

    thx for the shoutouts on the cocoa, pumpkin AND cookie dough balls. damn girl i am flattered you really went all out with my recipes :)

    tell me what you thought of them! you can email me cuz I never remember to check comments back. there’s no way that you couldnt have loved the cookie dough one and the pumpkin would love to hear your adaptation.

    coffee/cocoa? did you do half n half kinda thing?

    later mama :)

  3. November 2, 2009 9:39 pm

    Amazing race :) Kudos! And sooooo many good eats in this post… I wish I was your neighbor so I could have a little homemade pie ;)

    P.S. Thanks for the shoutout on your last post!

  4. November 2, 2009 10:57 pm

    Woohoo Congrats on completing your first race and even more you signed up for the next. I STILL have yet to LOVE running, but, I do agree, I LOVE the results and how it makes me feel each time. That is what keeps me going back.

    Thanks for the Nature’s Path contest shoutout – good luck!

  5. crazylittlethingneela permalink
    November 3, 2009 4:23 am

    running!! wow! i am so excited for you!
    oh and enjoy that kabocha, i can already see your next post where you will be raving about how awesome it tasted ;)
    xoxo

  6. November 3, 2009 12:25 pm

    Congrats on your first race! I took the same approach with my first (and only) race–I wanted it to be as enjoyable as possible so I would want to do it again. I didn’t push myself until I was sick or anything, because I knew if I did that, I would never run again.
    Congrats again!

  7. November 3, 2009 1:25 pm

    oh your first race that is very very exciting!! A lot of runners don’t love it all the time, but if you can find enough things about it that you do like it becomes very addicting and like you said that feeling of being amazed you did it is pretty cool

  8. November 3, 2009 3:58 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Congrats on your fist run! There is always so much energy at a race – it makes me feel so alive! I have also been wanting to try kabocha squash…I’ll be excited to see how it is!

  9. November 3, 2009 6:49 pm

    i want your raw kale recipe! better than whole foods? yes please!

  10. November 3, 2009 7:44 pm

    I hope you enjoy that kabocha :)

  11. November 3, 2009 11:21 pm

    Way to go on the race, i cannot say i like running in the least… or that I ever will for that matter. I do like to lift weights to a point though, so i think i can relate. I have yet to see walnut hummus anywhere down here… i think i may have to drive down to South Beach = not excited about it.

    I cannot WAIT to get my new moon on. They actually call me ‘Twilight’ at work since i “Look like Edwards Cullen”. Either or, i think i may even get a preview show pass = WINNER.

  12. November 4, 2009 7:09 pm

    Congrats on the run, and the squash! A great combo, haha. Kombocha squash are one of my new favorites (and a lot of other bloggers too!)

  13. November 4, 2009 9:02 pm

    It just takes one race to get hooked!

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE squash…I hope yours worked out well!

  14. November 4, 2009 9:10 pm

    Congrats on your race!!! How cool that you got to run with your mom.
    Your eats look fabulous as always.. Im diggin that you tried some Averie inspired goodies (so did I..tonights post!).

    Have a great night, hun :)

  15. November 5, 2009 7:50 pm

    GREAT blog!!

    Thanks for the giveaway shout outs, in advance :)

  16. November 8, 2009 9:34 pm

    great job on the run! I love your running top!

  17. greensandjeans permalink
    November 17, 2009 9:22 am

    Ready for an “it’s a small world” moment? I WAS AT THAT RACE! I did the half with my mom and my mom’s best friend!

Leave a Reply

