Skip to content

college stuff

November 5, 2009

What to do when putting off filling out the “required entrance counseling form“- i.e. filling out loans that will inevitably contribute to my debt infused (culinary term) life of a chef??

WRITE A NEW BLOG POST.

Yes, that is right.  I’m putting off filling out the 25 minute loan form to write on this dang thing.  Ladies and Gents (as I do believe I have a few male readers..) As a young-in I have to understand why I’m taking out loans, why I’m paying thousands for my culinary education and how I’m going to pay it off for the next 20+ years.  Ohhhhhh, BOY.   I do believe all women should have the right to gain financial independence and success; But ladies: I would be lying if I said I didn’t want a well-off, busy, working man to share my successes with (and maybe also help me pay off culinary debt.)  Wink, wink.

Another popular blogger on my google reader, Miss Thinspired, referenced a favorite book quote of mine, and I’m going to have to follow up and add my two cents about the quote.  As I love Pride and Prejudice, and I am in total agreement with Miss Austen.

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

Ah, if only that were true Jane.  If only.

Now, I leave you with these plates of majestic healthy eats; despite wanting to go bury myself in a hole bank vault.  Where is my Mr. Harry Potter?

Salad eaten outside (in the 90 degree heat, mind you.  More for the natural lighting.  I quickly moved my tush to the indoors.) Greeeeens, chicken breast, leftover roast kabocha, cucumber, celery, balsamic, maple syrup and fresh orange juice.  With some oikos+pumpkin+maple syrup+cinnamon+pumpkin & chocolate granola eaten a little later in the day.

DSCF0465

DSCF0463

DSCF0462

Breakfast today of egg whites+green sauce (you know in the little bottle.) with a Japanese sweet potato,steamed with a little coconut butter and cinnamon

DSCF0488

Breakfast yesterday- a breakfast cookie!  Finally.  I followed Susan’s instructions, via her video post, and ate her macaroon recipe.  Yumm.

DSCF0456

Tuesday night I met my Mama for some fro yo at a place called BTO (By the Ounce.)  It’s so fun in there, because its self-serve, so you can make it however you want!  It’s always busy, and clean, and I just love it, when I want to indulge in something besides dark chocolate or gelato every now and then.

I got the peanut butter and taro flavors (Soo good, I don’t even know what it was- similar to a coconut perhaps?) with mini chocolate chips and shredded coconut.

DSCF0449

DSCF0448

Snack/late dinner: sliced Honeycrisp with cinnamon, and a protein drink.  (I am loving my parents protein powder- I lift weights with them; however,  naturally they need a little more oomph to their diet, because they’re so lean and muscular and eat frequently.)  The protein powder is UMP (Ultra Muscle Protein)  by Beverly International.  It seriously tastes like dessert, and with 1 gram of sugar, and the fact that I’m not paying for it, its addicting.  I mix one scoop with about 4 oz unsweetened chocolate almond milk- AH. I. DIE.  (In the words of Miss RZ.)

DSCF0439

Pumpkin oats- (Monday breakfast.)

  • 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1/2 small banana, vanilla, cinnamon
  • Topped with 1 t maple syrup, a little spoonful of AB, and Dark Chocolate Dreams on the spoon.

DSCF0424

DSCF0426

Monday late lunch after a run/early lunch with Nicole (the mom’s Best):

Kale chipssss! (A whole head baked at 400 for about 15 minutes.) with ketchup.

Roasted kabocha!!! Finally. So delicious! I roasted these guys with a little maple and cinnamon.  I ate about a cup.  With some more protein crack.  Naturally.  I’ve said this before, and I will say it again: Drinking my calories never tasted so good!  I strictly prohibit soda and most beverages from my diet (I drink a lot of water, and a lot of coffee and that’s about it.)  But this stuff is dammnnn good.

DSCF0427

Salad lunch: greens, chicken, cucumber, kabocha, balsamic, olive oil, and some pumpkin puree mixed with mashed banana with cinnamon, a little granola on the side.

DSCF0436

Oh!  I got the job!  (That which was referred to when I talked about my interview in the last post.)  I have learned that being referred by a current employee almost always gets you the job.  But I will say I called them first and that’s when I got the news.  I’m always a tad bit nervous making that first step, (like a phone call) but this paid off, and I couldn’t be more thrilled/relieved.  A seasonal job is exactly what I needed, and I’m looking forward to having a little bit more, cash flow. :)

TGIF everybody.  Happy “Office” viewing as well.  I’m off to relish in the red cup.

xo, Bekah

Giveaway!

The lovely R.D. is giving away barney butter ! I have yet to try this smooth version of AB.  Looks so good.

Lynn & Christy of The Actor’s Diet are giving away Chobaniiiii.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 11:37 pm

    Congrats on the job! Your salad and oikos sound redic, in the best way possible. I love loading up lots of ingredients in salads, hence why Whole Foods salad bar, loaded with hot bar things as well, is my weakness. I’ll have to try the hodge podge method with yogurt!

  2. November 6, 2009 12:42 am

    Ok so you are the 2nd person today who has mentioned Susan and her brek cookie video. Honestly, hadnt ever even heard of her blog but in an hour, Ive heard of her twice. Gotta get over there :)

    I eat a brekkie cookie every day. Other blog said Susan’s video is 7 mins. I can name that tune (make a cookie) in 2 notes (minutes).

    LOL
    xoox

  3. November 6, 2009 1:27 am

    Ooh, taro…I love that root vegetable. It’s just about the BESt root vegetable ever..so starchy, with a nutty creaminess…

    Congrats on your job!

  4. November 6, 2009 6:48 am

    Congrats on the job!! I’ve got to get my butt in gear and get a seasonal job too…

    And yay for breakfast cookies! I hope it held up for you okay. Getting the texture down can sometimes be like a fine art :P

  5. November 6, 2009 8:13 am

    Yah, taro is a root veggie. :) I’ve had the taro froyo before.. yum! My #1 favorite flavor (although haven’t tried ‘em all) is peanut butter froyo hehe.

    I love how fresh all of your salads seem, with such a variety of delicious ingredients! I will take a page from your salad book ;)

    Filling out that loan stuff is borrrrrrrring, but it goes by pretty fast. Congrats on your job!

  6. November 6, 2009 9:42 am

    I am wishing that a Mr. Darcy will show up and pay your way through culinary school! If he doesn’t show up though, you’ll figure it out and make BANK with your fabulous cooking.

  7. peanutbutterfingers permalink
    November 6, 2009 10:50 am

    i tried taro for the first time two weeks ago! it’s so good but i have NO CLUE what it is either! :o)

  8. November 6, 2009 3:23 pm

    Loan paperwork is definitely a pain in the butt! But, girlll independence will definitely be worth it. Don’t get me wrong, I want a nice, working man, but if you put two salaries together you’ll be twice as rich. Plus, you’ll be able to make some bangin’ food. :)

  9. November 6, 2009 8:35 pm

    Yay for the job!

    I have seen those BTO places in the blog world lately…I need to find one! And I am oh so jealous of your 90* weather. Oh so jealous.

  10. November 6, 2009 10:08 pm

    congrats on the job and thanks for the giveaway shoutout!

  11. Peanut Butter Bliss permalink
    November 7, 2009 7:27 am

    congrats on your JOB :D yayyyy!!
    all of your eats are making my tummy grumble! haha

  12. November 7, 2009 3:45 pm

    yay for a new job!! That is so awesome :) That pb fro yo looks SOOO good :) Have a great weekend chica!

  13. Tenaya permalink
    November 7, 2009 10:51 pm

    Name that tune? Aaah, Averie, you are giving away your age. I’m sure Bekah doesn’t even know what that is. LOL! Clever…..
    Bekah’s mom

  14. November 8, 2009 9:25 am

    Congrats on getting the job! Taro fro yo sounds really exotic and yummy!

  15. November 8, 2009 9:13 pm

    And one more thing – I’m now in my 30’s (*cringe*) and I STILL mooch my parents’ protein powder. They say you can’t go back home again, but in my experience, you can still raid your childhood’s pantry.

  16. November 8, 2009 9:54 pm

    Congrats on the job:) That’s awesome! Loan paper work, heck, any paper work, is a pain in the ass. And daunting at that.

  17. November 9, 2009 2:29 am

    Haha, well, a wealthy man would be nice, I guess…but God (my daddy) is already the wealthiest, so I’m good! ;-)

    CONGRATS ON THE JOB!!!! WOO-HOOOO!!!

Leave a Reply

