Skip to content

Giving Thanks

November 25, 2009

In celebration, I am giving thanks to:

  1. Good food and good health.
  2. New friends and the opportunity to blog.  Seriously, I look forward to my e-mail inbox every single morning.  I love you guys! I have a feeling with a busy schedule in the near future- my commitment to posts will not decrease, but increase, and I am very excited about that.
  3. My parents: who celebrated 25 years of marriage yesterday!  They’ve blessed me with an awesome childhood and I could not feel more thankful than I do today.
  4. Good conversation. (Yes, I’m talking about last night with you Miss J!)
  5. Hers and Hers salads: My good friend Kristin and I got together Monday night for a rendezvous (I hadn’t seen her since July!) of a good evening run, a dinner of huge salads while watching an old 90210, and fro yo for dessert.

Mine’s on the right. ;)

Like HEAB, frozen yogurt is a once a month or every couple months ordeal, so I was saving up my $4.50 cup of yogurt for a time when I could enjoy it with a friend who loves it as much as I do.

6. Friends who let friends eat frozen yogurt!

I got mostly peanut butter with a dollop of coconut, and mini reese’s, mini chocolate chips, mini white chocolate chips on top.  K got peanut butter and taro with chocolate and white chocolate chips.  T’was delish and totally worth every spoonful.

7. Impulse purchases late at night at Target.  (Hellooo, I can’t turn down my hero on the cover of SHAPE.)  Also thankful for Giada because she was my original inspiration for cooking, which has led to so many other things in my life (like blogging!).

8. Post run breakfasts.

Breakfast today (Wednesday):

  • 1/2 cup oat bran, 1 1/2 cups water, vanilla, cinnamon
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein, 1/2 banana sliced, dollop Crofter’s superfruit spread, dollop MaraNatha creamy PB

Lunch Tuesday: leftover salmon served cold with green jalapeno sauce, leftover raw broccoli salad, Japanese sweet potato cheetahs, and some curry ketchup (thanks for the hint Katharina!)

This was like, the best lunch, ever.

A gorgeous looking honeycrisp eaten with a few frozen blueberries.

Lunch Saturday: egg salad, with raw broccoli salad and cherry tomatoes.

Lunch Monday: chicken breast with tahini and honey drizzles, raw veggies with salsa, raw broccoli salad.

Breakfast Monday:

What is hiding beneath that blanket of tahini, maple syrup and Nature’s Path pumpkin granola?!

OATMEAL!

  • 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, 1/2 banana cooked in, vanilla, cinnamon
  • Topped with 2 T Nature’s Path pumpkin granola, t of maple syrup and spoonful of tahini.

Lunch Sunday:  Buffalo burger with all the fixings, sliced heirlooms and raw cole slaw.

Breakfast Sunday: Muesli!

I soaked 1/2 cup of oats with 1/2 scoop vanilla protein, 4-8 oz of unsweetened vanilla hemp milk, 1 T cocoa, 1 T wheat germ overnight.  In the morning I topped the mug with 1/4 banana sliced, coconut butter, shredded coconut, chocolate chips and MaraNatha chocolate peanut butter.  YUM!

My list for things to be thankful for could go on forever and forever, and I’m pretty sure I could write a book about each and every little thing as well.  As for now, I am thankful for Thanksgiving itself, and the opportunity to go to my aunt’s house to visit and fellowship with my extended family.  Debriefing of Thanksgiving and the baking of the pies will come Friday morning!

Happy Thanksgiving to all who read.  You guys are again, the best.

xo, Bekah

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 5:45 pm

    Bekah,
    I love the way you eat. Chicken, bison, eggs, oats and tahini with raw salads on the side…and monthly fro-yo. Perfect!

    Enjoy your Thanksgiving my friend. Sounds like you have a lot to be thankful for indeed. :)

  2. November 25, 2009 6:21 pm

    Lots to be thankful for, for sure :)

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. crazylittlethingneela permalink
    November 25, 2009 6:41 pm

    happy thanksgiving!
    xoxo

  4. November 25, 2009 6:48 pm

    I love your list of things you’re thankful for!! Ya to your parents .. 25 yrs! My parents just had their 3oth.. im like dear lord.

    You and your friend look great.. what a fun time. I hope you have a super Thanksgiving, hun :)

    ps..can I say Im totally blown away at how pretty your honeycrisp/blueberry plate looks.. I always just thrown my apples in a bowl. I admire your patience.

  5. greensandjeans permalink
    November 25, 2009 8:22 pm

    I totally know what you mean about yogurt, it’s SO much better when it’s special! Have a great Thanksgiving Bekah!

  6. November 25, 2009 8:27 pm

    Wow- you are one wild and crazy chick with tahini on your oats!! Woot woot!

    Happy Thanksgiving and hope to see you very soon! :-)

    D

  7. November 25, 2009 8:28 pm

    PS. It’s obvious to say that your list of thanks is really nice. I must admit I have FroYo more than once a month! :-)

  8. Katharina permalink
    November 25, 2009 10:14 pm

    Wow that tahini breakfast sounds amazing. And that’s so nice that you got to enjoy some girl time :) fro-yo and big salads hehehe that’s so adorable! I am so thankful you keep a blog. :D

    I hope you have an incredible Thanksgiving bursting at the seams with love!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  9. November 25, 2009 10:34 pm

    “I got mostly peanut butter with a dollop of coconut, and mini reese’s, mini chocolate chips, mini white chocolate chips on top.”

    Yeah, so that was probably “kinda good”. Damn, jealous! Save me a bite next time LOL

    Thanks for the link love and glad you enjoyed the Raw Brock Salad…yummy, I eat a version of it practically daily. I use that dressing on EVERYTHING. I guess im partial, but I love that stuff.

    Mostly I love your list. And I could not agree more with your #2. I am thankful to know you Bekah, you’re amazing, you are alwasy so gracious with your linkbacks and love that you show me and in our private emails I am always touched and laugh and feel awesome to call you a wonderful friend.

    lots of love,
    averie :)

  10. shell625 permalink
    November 26, 2009 12:07 am

    i’m so glad you recognize all the amazing things you have to be thankful for :) your eats look delicious & i am absolutely LOVIN hte froyo!! hope you have a great thanksgiving. and i agree, blogger comments are the bestt

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.worpress.com

  11. November 26, 2009 12:54 am

    Yaya, Giada! Love her. Going to go buy that Shape issue ASAP. Happy Thanksgiving and THANKS for blogging : )

  12. November 26, 2009 5:45 am

    have a great thanksgiving! loved reading about what you’re thankful for <3

  13. November 26, 2009 10:41 am

    I love your whole thankful list. Health- Soo important. Good conversation- Yess! Amazing parents- Check Bloggers- So much fun and great support and yummy salads- who doesn’t love yummy salads?

    Happy thanksgiving!

  14. November 26, 2009 11:04 am

    i love all the things you are thankful for! congrats to your parents..that is so sweet!
    sounds like a PERFECT night last night..salads+froyo+90210!! (i grew up with jessica stroup btw) haha, no lie! anyway i hope you have an amazing thanksgiving!!

Trackbacks

  1. Thanks! — Say Yes to Salad

Leave a Reply

