Skip to content

thoughts of a foodie.

December 9, 2009

“The way you do anything is the way you do everything.” **

Lunch Tuesday: Trout, avec green Tabasco, 1/2 sweet potato made into “cheetahs” with ketchup.

Massaged kale and veggies with vegan tahini caesar. Um, delicious.  Praise to the Heavens for blogger inspiration. Gahh, I love you all of ladies.

Yes, my plates and bowls are actually as big as they seem.  That is my hand.  (Just if any of you were confused.)

A little dessert.  Yes, that is a little glass!  A 1/3 cup greek yogurt mixed with cocoa, layered with cheerios I had on hand and a dollop of MaraNatha dark chocolate PB.

Leftover coffeee, mid day. Mixed with cocoa.

Monday lunch- chicken breast drizzled with tahini, raw carrots+cucumber sliced on the mandolin, with lots of salsa. (This one’s for you, Susan!)

Broccoli salad on the side.  This was a case, of surprisingly, TOO MANY vegetables!  I didn’t know there was such a thing, but I actually could not finish my plate.

I cracked open a coconut.  With my mad culinary skills.  *Unfortunately, pure coconut water is way too sweet for my liking*.  It was almost disgustingly sweet.  It took a nice photo, but I didn’t drink it.  But I thought my 12 year old Survivor loving self would have been proud.

Breakfast Monday- whipped banana oats:

  • 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, vanilla, cinnamon, 1/2 banana
  • Topped with 1/3 crumbled piece of banana bread and 1/4 Fuji apple zapped in the microwave, and a spoonful of PB

Sunday- a Greeen Monster!  And this guy was very green.  In the mix: 2 cups Vietnamese spinach, 1/2 frozen banana, 1 scoop vanilla protein, water, splash almond milk, ice.  So tasty!  This may be another reason for my lack overload of veggies.  I’ve had quite a few of these the past week!

Served in a wine glass.

Lunch Sunday ^ salad with veggies and chicken,per usual.

I usually don’t eat a lot of pancakes, but just by coincidence my mom made us pancakes Sunday morning!  In honor of HEAB one year anniversary and Pancake Sunday perhaps?! I’m going with it.  Served alongside a cracked pepper egg.

Dinner Saturday ^ Grilled white fish, which I can’t remember what it is now.  Alongside raw kale salad, the Bekah way.

**The quote I began this post with is just one of many very inspiring things Dave Farmar frequently states on his pod-casts.  I never fail to smile, laugh or push through a yoga class because of him.  He always makes the 60, or 75-90 (eek!) minutes of power vinyasa yoga interesting, attention grabbing and stress relieving.

This quote is something I strongly believe in; because in my opinion, when you pay attention to one aspect of your life, all aspects will soon follow suit because of that little extra attention to detail in your life.  I know when I’m feeling my best, it is because I am on top of my game in every little way.  From keeping my nails filed, to doing yoga frequently and eating intuitively to flossing my teeth and making my bed, it all overlaps one another, leading me to a happy and peaceful Bekah. Forgive me this once, for referring to myself in the 3rd person. You understand. :)

I do have my bad days- (actually my finger nails at the moment are in their dreary, fugly days) but I try and put my best foot forward in time of self doubt and fear; and honestly- wearing my retainer and exercising regularly truly does make me feel cleaner, more refreshed, lighter and mentally/physically more able to do everything I want to do.

I call it the domino effect of life.

xoxooooo’s, Bekah

25 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 12:52 am

    Love so many things about this post- was giggling throughout-

    Great photo of you with the GM- you look scared!

    I totally agree about when you’re on your game it transfers to all aspects of your life. The flipside can unfortunately be FUGLY (love that word, havne’t used it in ages!)

    Cute that you use your hand for size comparison. I use my iphone! :-)

  2. December 9, 2009 1:43 am

    “*Unfortunately, pure coconut water is way too sweet for my liking*. It was almost disgustingly sweet.”
    Well you coulda just mailed it to me. Nothing ever. Too sweet. Sad but true that I could eat 6 splenda or truvias in 1 coffee and drink it. Not that I do, but I could. I think my taste buds are whack :)

    Thanks for the cesar linkage. Good stuff, huh!

    Too many veggies…once every few mo’s I do that. Rarely but it happens. Brock and kale and really fibrous veggies will sometimes delude you that way.

    The Dave F info, quote, etc…totally 100% on board my dear. Totally.

    oxox

  3. December 9, 2009 2:20 am

    I LOVE that photo of you and your GM! haha

    i love my kale and broccoli. i eat so much of it. and spinnache.. i wonder too if i can have TOO many veggies in a day?? i dont know. should I care? no.
    because yummzies.

    coffee+coca. yum

  4. December 9, 2009 3:46 am

    Yummy yummy yummy! Everything looks sooooooo good! x x

  5. December 9, 2009 4:10 am

    Haha cute post :) Great quote too!

  6. December 9, 2009 5:45 am

    Beautiful quote. Thanks for sharing it with us :)

    I love all of your eats. I rarely have hot lunches, but you’ve inspired me! your lunches are lovely and decadent. The green monster in a wine glass looks amazing! I have yet to make a green monster, it’s on my big list of “foods to try” – such a long list! but I’m working through it :)

    Have a lovely day!

  7. December 9, 2009 6:10 am

    I love that quote! I am going to remember that one :)

    Yay carrots and salsa! I usually dilute coconut water with regular water or add it to smoothies – I can’t drink a bunch of it straight as it’s too sweet for me too. It’s MUCH better cold though. I’ve had it out of a warm coconut several times at it’s grooooossss.

    I need to jump on the tahini bandwagon asap!!!

  8. December 9, 2009 7:57 am

    Yeah, I wear a retainer at night too ;) We’re cool!

    Love your Green Monster in the wine glass, very classy.

    I wish I could buy a fresh coconut that actually tasted good. That was one thing I learned this year, NEVER buy a fresh coconut in Columbus, Ohio, it’s a waste of money and time. I opened it up and it was the driest thing I’ve ever seen. Nasty.

  9. December 9, 2009 8:18 am

    Your green smoothie looks delightful!!! Whenever I attempt to make one it always turns out brown and gross. I think I need to add the same amount of spinach you do.

    Hey, the coconut might be too sweet but it looks really awesome.. lol (just pretend you are on a lounge chair staring at the ocean!) ;)

  10. December 9, 2009 8:18 am

    I love Dave quotes as well. I need to start doing his podcasts more.. this job has totally thrown off my exercise.

    I’m with Averie – NOTHING is too sweet. I can and DO eat coffee with lots of splenda (my vice! eek!) and I absolutely ADORE coconut juice from a young coconut.

  11. December 9, 2009 8:32 am

    Geneen Roth paraphrases “How you do anything is how you do everything” as “How you eat is how you live.” I love that. You eat well my dear.

  12. December 9, 2009 8:55 am

    That bowl o’ oats got my mouth watering. That looks SO good!

    GM in a wine glass eh? Classy lady :)

  13. December 9, 2009 9:10 am

    Yay for mama pancakes. Those are always those best, although my papa makes a mean flapjack as well.

    Too many veggies…nah…until you start to orange, I say bring it on.

    Love blogger inspired meals. So many great ideas out there.

    You eat a lot of fish. I want to come over and eat fish and Bekah kale salad. I don’t like kale except roasted in chip form. Please help me learn to love raw kale. :)

  14. December 9, 2009 9:30 am

    ahaha, great picture with the green smoothie. Sometimes I serve mine in a wine glass as well…I think it makes the drink taste better and seem like more of a treat (am I right?).

    I really want to cook some fish after seeing this post! And some kale with tahini dressing.

    Great quote. I agree that everything in life overlaps, even if it’s not overly noticeable.

  15. December 9, 2009 11:03 am

    oh my gosh LOVE what you said about your retainer!! i wear mine every single night!! ahha its NOT the most attractive thing ever..

    i love that quote!!

    and i love you!! and your posts!! GREAT desserts. and you are so cute with that green monsta :)

  16. shell625 permalink
    December 9, 2009 1:38 pm

    eats look sooo good :) as alway! and you are tooo cute w/ the green monster in the wine glass hha. love your positive attitude

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  17. December 9, 2009 7:17 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more (2nd to last paragraph). Little things add up : )

  18. December 9, 2009 7:18 pm

    …to a peaceful state of mind.

  19. greensandjeans permalink
    December 9, 2009 7:27 pm

    The only time I have had coconut milk straight from the nut was when I was in a rainforest, so I’m assuming that in your kitchen would be much different and probably not as good. The chiropractor I saw yesterday told me that when you eat healthy and you exercise your whole system is more efficient, which makes perfect sense. When all systems are go you are just on top of your game!

  20. December 9, 2009 7:43 pm

    I totally agree! I am at best when everything is going well. And its not fun when its all floppy and bad:(

    Lol at your veggie overdose- is there sucha thing?

  21. December 9, 2009 7:44 pm

    you look so adorable with your wine glass of green goodness

  22. December 10, 2009 4:15 pm

    I absolutely adore these pictures. Being an amateur-ish cook myself, I can say I appreciate a good home-cooked meal. More kudos points if it looks professional like you’ve done it :) I’ll even have to try that smoothie you wrote about – an interesting use of Vietnamese spinach that I never thought about.

  23. December 10, 2009 11:37 pm

    The Domino Effect of Life. Man, that should be a blog title someday, don’t ya think?

    Haha! I LOVE that expression you made…You’re just so cute!

  24. December 11, 2009 12:16 am

    That quote is pretty awesome.

    I went through a low-ish point and MADE MYSELF write in my journal, every night, one thing I had accomplished that day. Because it’s true, the little things we do matter, and we do them the best way we can.

  25. December 11, 2009 7:27 am

    Great blog Bekah! I tried part of a Dave Farmer workout before – good stuff and flow. Nice pictures – mmm trout :) Check out my blog if you have time for another one -haha- I love new readers! Add me to your roll ;) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

