Skip to content

It’s raining granola!

December 25, 2009

MERRYYY CHRISTMAS!!!!!!

Remember this breakfast?

aaannnnd

this dinner?

And this week’s Wednesday breakfast, (not yet blogged):

I present to you Beek’s COCONUT CHIA GRANOLA*!!!

*For lack of  a better term.

Bekah’s Coconut Chia Granola:

recipe adapted from the back of the Let’s Do Organic brand of coconut flakes:

  • 3 cups rolled oats, gluten-free if necessary
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 3/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2  cup pure maple syrup (I use Grade B.)
  • Vanilla extract and cinnamon to taste. (I like a lot, probably 1 t of each, and then some.)
  • 2 T safflower oil
  • 2 T chia seeds

Mix allllll together in a bowl or directly on a cookie sheet, bake at 375 degrees for 25-30 minutes, making sure to mix up the granola one or two times while baking, to ensure even coloring (NOT burning!)

I’ve also added wheat germ and coconut flour to different batches for an even nuttier texture and taste.  Experiment with whatever ingredients you like or have on hand!

So many uses too!

  1. Straight out of the bag.
  2. Sprinkled over yogurt.
  3. Fruit+granola.
  4. Late night snack.
  5. On top of a smoothie or protein shake!
  6. On top of acai.
  7. Straight out of the bag, again.
  8. Eat it for breakfast, lunch, snack, dinner or dessert.  Seriously- homemade granola can be eaten whatever time of the day.  It’s pacing yourself with this stuff that’s the trick!
  9. Give it as a gift to your friends or neighbors or grandparents like I did.  (Using cellophane bags, zip-locks or recycled nut butter jars!)

What else have I been whipping up for little holiday goodie packages?

Averie’s vegan peanut butter cups!  I made a peanut butter cup tree!

But apparently, I didn’t follow directions close enough, because instead of looking like this:

they ended up like this:

Chocolate peanut butter stacks?  C’est la VIE.

Speaking of Averie, both she and Shelley in the past two weeks kindly honored me with the Beautiful Blogger award, in which every one of you who reads my blog is deserving of and/or have already received this!  So thank you ladies!.


Here are my seven facts:

1. I lift heavy weights. I talk a lot about my love of yoga and fitness on the blog- but a lot of people don’t know that I when I first started working out, it was all about the weight lifting! Ladies- call me crazy, but I’m 18 and I don’t have man muscles. Weight lifting will not ever make you look like a body builder! But to each her own. Every person is different with their workout of choice. :)

2. I’m 5′ 2″. Shortttie.

3. I’ll be 19 in February.

4. I’m a wiz with bulletin boards. I make them look really pretty in about 5 minutes flat. Too bad “bulletin board designer” is not a career choice.
5. I was/still am obsessed, and I mean obsessed with “Laguna Beach” ever since it came out when I was in the 7th grade. I still watch “The Hills” to this day. It’s been a long, and trying six years??? (OMG) watching Lauren and Kristin grow up. Bahahaha. I have a Laguna Beach scrapbook, I’ve visited Laguna and even ran into Morgan from first season there! Total freak out.
6. My last shot/immunization I received was when I was a baby. I almost never go to the doctor. TMI? Well, let’s just say- my parents were “eclectic” and I was a cloth-diaper wearing kind of baby.  I’m healthy, so I say so what?
7. I want to travel the world. I do want to share my life with someone someday (sooner rather than later!), but am in no hurry to either get married or have children.

I’m supposed to pass this along to seven other bloggettes- so if you haven’t done this award, and you read/regularly comment (you know who you are!) then I give it to you gals.

Hope you have wondrous and white  SUNNY holiday!  And a merry, merry Christmas.

xo, Bekah

58 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2009 2:36 am

    aww you a cute little 5’2 shawty!! i love it!
    AND Those PB cups!
    Merry Christmas girl!

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    December 25, 2009 3:07 am

    PB stacks sound good to me! I’ve never had chia seeds, but I want to give that granola a try. Bulletin board designer may not be a career but icould sure use your services! Merry xmas!

  3. December 25, 2009 6:28 am

    Thanks for sharin your granola recipe! Looks great! I’ve always wanted to make homemade granola, but never have! also your pb cups look to die for!!

    Have a great day butter cupppppp!

  4. December 25, 2009 6:45 am

    “Weight lifting will not ever make you look like a body builder!”

    YES!!! I guess some women are more prone to “bulking” up easily on either upper or lower halves, but unless you’re taking testosterone, it’s impossible to beef up like a man.

    Gah! Thank you so much for the granola recipe!! Granola is so easy to make, i should really get used to making my own more often (especially when it’s tastier than anything store bought).

    Merry Christmas!!! :D

  5. Holly permalink
    December 25, 2009 7:51 am

    Merry Christmas, Bekah!!

    Your goodies look absolutely delicious! Don’t fret about your peanut butter cups – I am sure many people will still be thrilled to get them!

    I have to ask, if you don’t mind, just when is your birthday? I have a feeling we may have the same one!

  6. December 25, 2009 8:42 am

    Merry Xmas, Bekah!!!!!!!!!!
    Thanks for the PB shoutout, and your PB Tree. Wow, soooo yummy looking!!! I hope your friends n fam help you eat your tree and enjoy the yums you made for them!

    And of course the award, so glad to hear your factoids! we don’t vax Skylar either. She had a few when she was a tiny infant but since she’s been 6 mos, she’s had none, nor will she. Clean diet, clean water, clean hands, a little bit of luck, sound research and statistics, we’re ok with things. To each her own, of course and no judgment from me! But glad to hear you’re of the crunchy variety.

    And your granola too. Funny you like “alot”. Alot of cinny to me in that recipe would be 3 Tbsp. Not 1 tsp. Girl, I REALLLY like alot :) Cinnamon is a wonderful anti inflammatory AND medicinial in the sense it strengthens your immune defenses. So I shake on liberally!

    Merry Xmas!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    December 25, 2009 10:28 am

    those peanut butter stacks sound amazing! & so does your granola..yumm. glad u did the beautiful blogger facts because yours are good! laguna beach/the hills is sooo addicting, i must say i watch it even though i acknowledge how ridiculous it can b! & good for you for weight lifting :)

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  8. December 25, 2009 11:32 am

    HAHA, I loooove lifting heavy weight! And MERRY XMAS girl :)

  9. greensandjeans permalink
    December 25, 2009 12:29 pm

    Merry Christmas Bekah! Thanks for sharing your granola recipe! It looks great! I’m getting a little snow fix here in Kansas for Christmas, but I’m definitely ready to head back to the sunshine!

  10. December 25, 2009 1:14 pm

    WOWOWOWOW!! I had no idea you were only 19!!! Wow, and already going to culinary school?? Ok, I guess that makes sense, duh Gina, I’m just used to making assumptions.

    your granola looks, and sounds fabulous. I have a granola recipe that I make at least twice a month. I eat it constantly.

    My want to get some immunizations if you want to travel the world. Oh, and I want to come, please :)

    Merry Christmas!

  11. December 25, 2009 1:49 pm

    I’m trying to get back into weight lifting actually…and no, I certainly don’t want a body builder’s body. Steven from Laguna Beach = true hottie!

    I hope to one day travel the world as well, so I hope your dreams are fulfilled! That’s interesting to hear about your lack of immunizations! I HAD to get the tetanus shot before college, not sure if the CIA would require that or not.

    Merry Christmas Bekah!

  12. Peanut Butter Bliss permalink
    December 25, 2009 5:11 pm

    MERRY CHRISTMAS :D

    I wish I could find some chia seeds so I can make that granola!!

    ps. I am still totally obsessed with Laguna Beach. Such a good show :D

  13. December 25, 2009 5:13 pm

    Haha, you’re not a shortie…you’re just ADORABLE and petite! :-)
    Yum granola! Looks like great minds think alike in making granola for gifts!

    MErry Christmas my dear!

  14. December 25, 2009 7:53 pm

    those pb cups still look pretty tasty to moi!

  15. December 25, 2009 8:15 pm

    I couldn’t see the photo of your cups. :-(

    Great that you lift heavy. Love that.

    When I run out of my granola (as you said…pace yourself) now I have the secret recipe!! :-) Thanks and see you tomorrow!

    Merry Christmas!

    D

  16. crazylittlethingneela permalink
    December 25, 2009 8:21 pm

    awww YESSSS! beek i love you! finally i can sleep peacefully again knowing that i can recreate that AMAZING granola of yours ;)
    love ya

  17. December 26, 2009 1:09 pm

    your coconut chia granola is out of this world<3
    love you

  18. December 26, 2009 1:49 pm

    merry christmas and nice blog. the granola and pb cups are neat…you are pretty crafty and got some skills for that! i am short too…no worries…and travel?…doesn’t everybody? ha! i am lucky if i get outside my house :)

  19. Tenaya permalink
    December 26, 2009 2:30 pm

    Bekah, you forgot a fact that is pretty important when it comes to one’s immune system. You nursed for (just one month short of) 3 years. However, since you were baby number 2, I was not as strict about my caffeine intake as with your brother, Taylor. Hence, you were probably getting lattes in utero (sp?) and while nursing. Aaaah, your love of caffeine to this day. Blame it on mama. Heck, if that’s your only vice…….. ;) (Nice blog post BTW)
    Love you <3 Mama

  20. December 26, 2009 11:30 pm

    Gah I love wheat germ!I have a fantastic recipe for these little cookie treats called “wheat germ balls” – they are unreal! I’ll send it to you if you would like!

    I am also a “no doctor” kind of girl…if your healthy, there’s no need, right?!

  21. December 27, 2009 1:06 am

    Looks fabulous!! Congrats on your award! I loved reading all those facts. Anyways I love the chocolate stacks and the granola looks awesome! Its one of my favorite foods. I hope you had a great holiday!!

  22. December 27, 2009 10:19 am

    I didn’t know there were any other uses for granola besides putting them on a shake! Cool!

    Loved reading the tidbits about you. You’re wonderful.

  23. December 27, 2009 2:42 pm

    I LOVE Laguna Beach and The Hills too- been watching it since it first came out- drama! :D

    And I don’t do the whole Dr. thing either- I like to eat healthy and take care of my body.

    Loving the pb cups- I haven’t made those since I was like 12- and I really need to b/c the hubby loves them :D

  24. December 28, 2009 11:54 am

    Merry Christmas :) Belatedly, of course! I just wanted to stop by and let you know that I had such a great time meeting you yesterday. That granola looks absolutely fabulous and I can’t wait to try it! As do those peanut butter cups…one of my favorites for sure.

    You know from yesterday that I am with you on #6. Loved reading all of your other fun facts, too. I hope that we can chat more soon!

  25. Katharina permalink
    December 28, 2009 1:55 pm

    Thank you soooo much for sharing!! Girl, you don’t even know how happy this makes me :) And those are the goodies you’ve been making = out of this world.

    Traveling = favorite thing. I thought you were older! You’re just so mature ;)

    XOXOX

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  26. December 28, 2009 5:10 pm

    your cups turned out cute if you ask me! i have some chia to be used~i may have to put this recipe to the test :) loved your answers!!! i need to do mine soon.

  27. December 28, 2009 5:55 pm

    im 5’2 too!!! YAY!! :)

    merry belated xmas!

  28. December 28, 2009 6:14 pm

    your granola looks great! i’ve been making my own granola for a while now, but i’ve never tried it with chia seeds. i made averie’s pb cups too and they look pretty much like yours =)

  29. December 28, 2009 6:26 pm

    Heheh bulletin boards!!! You may be able to do that as a profession!

  30. January 21, 2010 1:36 pm

    Yesssssss I found the secret recipe! Susan linked to it recently and I am so happy I was able to find it :) Somehow I missed this post the first time around!
    LOVE!

  31. January 21, 2010 1:37 pm

    Oh…that’s why I missed it ;) It was Christmas Day!

  32. May 20, 2010 10:57 am

    I’ve never had my own chia pet or chia head or whatnot, but they look cool on TV. I just eat the seeds and I swear, they help sooo much as far as energy and feeling good throughout the day goes. I honestly started feeling so much better on a day-to-day basis after I started putting them in my smoothies about a year ago. The one’s I get are Chia Pure. Chia Seeds Right Now they are even buy 1
    get 1 free!

Trackbacks

  1. Bloggers Unite For A Hike « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  2. Goodbye Smoothie Girl :( « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  3. I scream for protein! « Beek Eats!
  4. The Loves of My Life « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  5. What’s A Chocolate Lover To Do? « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  6. Made At Home « The Great Balancing Act
  7. Last week of eats « Beek Eats!
  8. One-Pot Wonder | Thinspired
  9. busy day. « meals & moves
  10. true life of an american retail employee « Greens And Jeans
  11. jamaica or bust. « meals & moves
  12. Granola, Chocolate and Hummus, oh my! « The Great Balancing Act
  13. 02.20.10 – Saturday’s Eats…the Yogurt Diet Begins « Kelly B Well
  14. Beek’s Chia Oatmeal Granola « Kelly Cooks…and other Amazing Feats
  15. And The Break Ends « Lighter Portions
  16. Birthday Extra-vaganza Recap! « Beek Eats!
  17. flashback friday round eleventeen million and three. « meals & moves
  18. Trying new recipes- More fun then homework « confessions of a health nut
  19. crazy good eats week! « Beek Eats!
  20. Q&A and Galaxy Granola! « Beek Eats!
  21. At a loss for words.. « Beek Eats!
  22. Prepared meals versus cooked food « Beek Eats!
  23. Feeling human again… « Beek Eats!
  24. On the Topic of Food and Blogging « Katharina’s Food Adventures
  25. An Ode To Oatmeal | The Great Balancing Act
  26. My Favourite Pasta, Healthified | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

