Skip to content

I scream for protein!

December 30, 2009

Get it?  Protein Ice Cream!

Tuesday (a WHOLE week ago!) pre-holiday craziness at work, an afternoon snack/dessert from lunch:

PROTEIN ICE CREAM.

Best thing since protein pancakes??! I don’t know…. but pretty darn good.  I basically eat drink this type of thing multiple times during the week (I’ve noticed this girl knows what I’m talking about!), but since the addition of  xantham and guar gums, it has made a WORLD of difference.  HEAB knows her stuff.  Heather, you must make protein ice cream in your new magic bullet- it makes it so good!

Protein Ice Cream: (How I did it.)

  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein
  • 1/4 t xantham gum, 1/8 t guar gum
  • 4-8 oz unsweetened chocolate almond breeze
  • 1 t+ extra dark cocoa powder
  • ICE
  • Topped with a couple flavors Sunspire chips.

OMG! So good!

Wednesday lunch: Trout w/ green Tabasco, carrots w/ tahini, raw brocc salad.

Thursday snack: MORE PROTEIN ICE CREAM?!

YES.

This time topped with crumbled world peace cookieMaya sent me a little package with homemade baked gooodss which I’ve been nibbling on for the past six days. Oh my gosh, making the foodie in me HAPPY!  (Pepita brittle, homemade marshmallows, chocolate world peace cookies and jam thumbprints were included. They will definitely be popping in every now and then in my eats! Trying to savor them. ;) )

Thank you Mayaa. :)

Thursday breakfast: egg whites with green Tabasco, toast with PB+drizzle honey+banana

Christmas early lunch (post family hike!): massage kale salad, trout with more green Tabasco.

*FWI, most of my trout lunches with broccoli or kale are cold/chilled/room temperature dishes.

Wednesday breakfast: Greek yogurt, homemade granola, frozen blueberries, a piece of frozen banana, a couple raw almonds- then all mixed up.

Tuesday lunch: chicken w/ tahini, carrots+cucumber+salsa+massaged kale salad.

Tuesday (last week) breakfast: OATS at Starbucks!  This was actually kind of good.  A “perfect oatmeal” w/ half of banana, the dried cranberries out of the dried fruit packet, a splash of skim milk, lots of cinnamon, vanilla powder, and half a packet of Almond Butter.

Enjoyed in good company with girlfriends from high school. So fun.

Well this post is like a week’s worth of recap, not including Christmas Eve, Christmas dinner OR yesterday and today.  BUT, its the first time in a while I feel ahead with the blogging game.  I have multiple posts lined up for you, all of which I’m very excited about, my Google reader is back to zero (getting to commenting now), I’m finally putting together a page dedicated to my blogroll, and I’m finally feeling at peace with myself since I’ve returned home from Texas.  The trick is being at peace even in the rough, tough, and dare I say fugly times, which I know will revisit time and time again throughout my life and each person’s life.  Another New Years Intention?  Sure.

Movies that have been watched:

“Up in the Air”- I think Madeline will agree with me- SUCH a good movie, and a lovely two hours of full on George.  God, I don’t think that man will ever get ugly.  Even when he is old.  Heck, Clooney is ALREADY old.  But he is damn sexy nonetheless.

A man after my own heart.  Aviators and espresso. YUM.
(George, not the espresso.)

“500 Days of Summer”- I really enjoyed this.  It’s a very nice, quirky story.  I watched it Monday night and I’m still thinking about the entire thing.  Deep thoughts too!  Ughh, I’ll say it again- can I just be like 25 already?

Going to watch “Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist” tomorrow.  Has anybody seen this?  Thoughts?

New Years plans?  Since I’m a youngin underage, relatively mature adult, I therefore cannot go anywhere where alcohol is served; unfortunately there is not much else to do in Tucson.  On top of that: my friends and I are already pretty laid back.  We go out to coffee for fun.  Naturally, we have no plans.  Really, the only reason I want to go out is to don a cute outfit and pair of heels!  Oh well.  On a different note- the countdown begins!  26 days till I leave for New York.

XO,

B

CCV’s Wild Bars Giveaway!

Monica’s Bar Giveaway!

Lil Veggie Patch Coconut Bliss giveaway!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 2:32 am

    i need to take a spin at some protien ice cream.

    those almonds you sent me.. rad-tastic. sex-gasm.
    recipe. !??

  2. Lexi permalink
    December 30, 2009 7:06 am

    I definitely need to try this protein ice cream, it looks SO good!

  3. December 30, 2009 8:32 am

    YAA for protein! All that ice cream looks amazing.. its so cold here, though, Id have to heat it up. lol
    Apparently Ive been living in a cave because I had no idea starbucks sold oatmeal?!? Wow.. looks yummy! :)
    Ive never seen Nick and Nora but am totally obsessed with Michael Cera.. he is soo freaking cute and funny. Let us know how it was!

  4. greensandjeans permalink
    December 30, 2009 9:28 am

    I do love me some George Clooney… Old ER episodes have been watched just for some major swoonage.

  5. December 30, 2009 9:28 am

    LOVE protein and LOVE icecream so I am all over that big ole bowl ;)

    when I went to FL I had that same breakfast from starbucks, it was very good! (I had teh justins nutbutter packet and all!) I am glad they started making this as a breakfast on the go option!

    how was the movie?? I havent seen it yet!

  6. December 30, 2009 10:12 am

    As always Beeks, love the way you eat. Do you buy your trout in bulk or something. I need to do more fish. Always say that and then never do it. Intention for 2010 – more fish! :)

    Cannot wait to get home and make some protein ice-cream in the Bullet. We leave later this morning for Nashville. The temps are freezing but you better believe I’ll be blending up some chocolate ice-cream tonight…sprinkled with your granola of course.

    I meant to ask you about your massaged kale salad on our hike, but I forgot. Need to try your recipe as I’ve hated every other raw kale salad I’ve tried. Always want to roast it and then cover it in ketchup. Don’t think kale was meant to be eaten that way…but it sure is tasty.

    Totally agree about George. Talk about getting better with age, and I’m dying to see 500 Days of Summer. Love Zooey Deschanel.

    Happy New Year my friend!!!!

  7. December 30, 2009 10:53 am

    Pepita brittle- uh yes please!

    Fugly- ha ha love that word!

    George Clooney is old?!?!? Crap, when did that happen??

    So I guess your Protein ice cream is my Smoothie-in-a-bowl. You say potato, I say PotAHto, let’s call the whole thing off. :-)

    Seriously while I was at Tommy’s burgers at age 18 you are eating broccoli and kale. I’m pretty sure I didn’t know what kale was then (maybe not even a year ago…doh!)

    26 days and counting- yay so exciting. But what’s gonna happen to poor mom & dad? They’ll subsist on protein drinks all day and night!!

  8. December 30, 2009 11:12 am

    OOO Girl i like the way you think!! protein ice cream=bomb dot com
    i CRAVE it like every single day fo real!
    i totally feel you on the NYC outfit thing.. i have a cute outfit i want to wear..dangit!! :)
    have a GREAT time whatever you end up doing!

  9. December 30, 2009 11:15 am

    We all scream for protein ice cream! Yay!

  10. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    December 30, 2009 11:34 am

    if only i had a magic bullet… that looks amazing!! & i like starbucks oatmeal :) hope you have a great new years,even if it is relaxing! & i want to seee tht movie

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  11. December 30, 2009 11:45 am

    Oh wow, 26 days?!?! I’m so excited for you.

    When I was your age I was bad and still went to parties and drank. What can I say? I chose friends who liked to party. I was usually one of the most sober of them all, and I just made fun of them as they made fulls of themselves. I like the idea of wearing a new outfit too. In fact I just picked mine out yesterday! It’s actually not too exciting, as I’m wearing plain old jeans, but the shirt is great! It shows off my “buff” arms :)

    Love your protein ice cream recipe. I assume you just freeze it in the freezer? Everyone uses whey protein and I’m also assuming it’s because you want to grow muscles, and prevent muscle soreness, right? I can’t see why else you would use it…unless I’m missing something.

  12. December 30, 2009 8:24 pm

    Oh yum! Protein ice cream, my favorite!

  13. December 30, 2009 11:55 pm

    I’m glad my cookies made such a good ice cream topper! I’ve never been a big fan of protein powders, but I might have to invest in some for ice cream, though!

  14. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    December 31, 2009 12:11 am

    i am so in love with george clooney, must see that movie! love all the pictures, beautiful as always!

  15. December 31, 2009 4:54 am

    I’ve been up for 26 hrs. I am truly insane. Get home after 3+ weeks away, go groc shopping at 1am, unpack everyone, do the mail, and then crack the google reader. Yes, I love my bloggie friends :)

    Ive been seeing your happy lovely granola everywhere, like Heaby’s, and yeah girl you’re gonna be famous. :)

    8-9th is penciled, just firm up as week unfolds next week my love.

  16. December 31, 2009 8:44 am

    I am glad you guys had a good day. You have an enthusiastic personality – admirable.

  17. December 31, 2009 11:05 am

    Protein ice cream!? Hells yeah, I will be trying that soon.

    *Check out my Boomi Bar giveaway now through Friday*

  18. December 31, 2009 12:56 pm

    Um, protein ice cream, can I say yum! I definitely want to make this. Will be bookmarking this page.

    Those are two movies that I’ve actually been talking about wanting to see lately! I heard the 500 days of summer is cute. Happy New Years Bekah, glad I’ve got a chance to meet you through the blog world this year!

  19. Peanut Butter Bliss permalink
    December 31, 2009 4:47 pm

    i really really wish I could make some of that protein ice cream because it sure does look super delicious :D

    have a happy new years eve girlie!

  20. December 31, 2009 7:24 pm

    I liked Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist :D
    And really really want to see up in the air! My mom saw it, and as she points out, “It’s pretty nice staring at George Clooney for two hours”.

  21. January 1, 2010 7:44 am

    Oooh, I just picked up some xanthan and guar gums and cannot wait to start experimenting with them. Protein ice cream is definitely on the list.

    I still have to try the starbucks oatmeal!!! I actually have to pay for it, I think that’s why ;)

  22. January 4, 2010 11:25 pm

    hi gorgy girl. i was going to reply to emails tonight but decided to blog read instead :P haha. still have yours sitting there. im a slack ass! actually i am busy but i wanted to let you know i suck at emailing.

    LOVE the title of this. cute play on words and protein and ice cream are two of my favorite things in the world! now that i am on my plan, i should totally make this.

    whenever i eat that oatmeal i tote along that same almond butter! twinners.

    ok, off to read more of your lovely words. xo

  23. Vicki permalink
    March 11, 2010 1:10 am

    Hi Rebekka,

    Just fixin to go to bed. I’m so glad Saturday will be here
    in a couple days. How weird, it was 61 today, we still have some snow piled up to your waist. weird

    chat later,
    love Vicki

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 2010!!!! « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  2. crazy good eats week! « Beek Eats!

Leave a Reply

