Skip to content

holy mole yum!

January 7, 2010

Inspired by my meet up with Deb and Heather, I had an awesome  protein filled FIRST breakfast of 2010:  Cocoa Protein Pancakes with maple syrup and Hole Mole nut butter from the one and only Smoothie Girl.

I used the tried and true coconut flour pancake recipe from Heather and added 1 T cocoa powder and a splash of vanilla extract.

Also topped with a sprinkle of shredded unsweetened coconut.

Venti Americano on the side? Check.

Another little shout out to Maya who supplied me with these jam thumbprint cookies.  FYI: I make a similar variety of these cookies on a yearly basis, and these were WAY better than mine.  Thick and chewy and still being savored by moi- they taste like a sweet circle of pie dough with different flavors of fruit jam, and a sweet coco-nutty bottom. Holy wow.

I made a family dinner last week of salad with buffalo steaks, homemade cornbread croutons, avocado, carrot, jicama and tomato.

Very awesome combo!

A splash of vino?! Yeaah.

Breakfast with the gal pals.  Seriously, you cannot go wrong with a two egg breakfast for 2.50 $. Side of hashbrowns and toast and you’re good to go!  I don’t like hashbrowns, but I usually have a couple bites just to eat the ketchup. :)

*Note: green Tabasco that ISN’T the Tabasco brand tastes like dirt.  And is GREENER than my neighbor’s fake lawn.  Food dye is naassty.   Also noted- I live in Tucson, none of my neighbors have lawns.  Not even fake ones.

Lunch: Broccoli salad with a side of trout with reaaal green Tabasco. And homemade cranberry sauce.

*edited to add: I see kale in there somewhere too!

Pumpkin Protein Smoothie in a Bowl! (snack)

  • Ice lots and lots of ice. With xantham+guar gums and water.
  • 1 serving vanilla protein powder
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree, vanilla extract, cinnamon, cocoa powder
  • Topped with pumpkin granola.

Yogurt breakfast!  I just discovered those bigger 8 oz containers of Voskos Greek yogurt have a non-fat 0% version too!  So much more filling and yummy.  Cheaper than other Greek yogurt brands too!

Eaten plain with 1/2 cup chopped papaya, a la Katharina, 1/3 banana, and 1/3 cup pumpkin granola.

I also ^ drizzled tahini along side the bowl before I added the layers.

Protein ice cream in a wine glass.

Lunch: Trout with massaged kale salad, raw veggies up the wazoo, and a side of salsa and yogi chips.

Breakfast ^ 1/4 cup oatbran+1/4 cup oatmeal cooked in water with 1 serving protein powder, topped with almond butter.

Dinner: More (I’m obsessed) protein pancakes with pumpkin puree cooked in the batter.  Drizzled with tahini and maple syrup.  Breakfast for dinner= fave.

At this moment I’m getting very anxious and excited about the big move to college life via culinary school at the CIA.  For those of you who don’t know.. the CIA is pretty much like any other college- I’ll be living in the dorms and doing all that jazzy stuff. It’ll take me a little over three years to complete my Bachelor’s.

I’m flying out (naturally, seeing as a drive would take me forever, and God knows my parents do not want to drive all the way back).  How depressing would that be?! Exactly my point.  Sooo… I’ll be either packing up alll my stuff, or having it shipped out, or we’ll be picking it up there.  But, really, how do I pack it all up?  Do any of you fellow college ladies have any advice for what to bring, versus what NOT to bring?  My closet is a concern. As are my shoes.  As is the COLD WEATHER.  What kind of boots do I need?  How many different jackets do you east coasters really own?

Also: my dorm room.  What do you suggest about appliances?  I’ve seriously already started a bowl/plate/mug collection that could probably furnish my future Carrie Bradshaw-meets-Zooey Deschanel-in “500 Days of Summer”-apartment, let alone a college dorm room. But do I bring it?? If you’re not in college, do you have any common advice?  Starting to freak out just a teensy bit.  ;)

Allmoooost the weekend! Have an awesome day.

XO,

Bekah

26 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2010 3:05 pm

    I am so glad you enjoy the cookies! They’re a Christmas cookie tradition in my house and [going to spill my secret here] it’s a Barefoot Contessa recipe–love Ina Garten!

    I know you’ll do great at the CIA! A Carrie meets 500 Summers decorating style would be perfect! I love that in the movie Zooey’s character only wore blue, the only color she needs with those eyes, really.

  2. January 7, 2010 3:09 pm

    Don’t freak out Beeks! What kind of appliances are you allowed. I would recommend a rice cooker. You can do so many things in them – oats, grains, steamed veggies and fish…although there might be a smell factor and wouldn’t want any of the roomies hating on my precious Beeks. Boots are key. I have these:http://www.patagonia.com/web/us/product/womens-lugano-waterproof-boot?p=79600-0-041 Love them! Cheaper than Uggs. So comfortable AND waterproof.

    Can I please move in with you and your family? LOVE your eats. Mind if CD and pups tag along? ;)

    P.S. Pre-tahini drizzled bowl is brilliant!

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    January 7, 2010 3:49 pm

    aww dont stress- you will be fine & will do great! omg your eats look great- love the protein pancakes & those cookies look amaaazing. your salads look really delicious too :)

    you are going to do great at school! get a comfy pair of boots

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. January 7, 2010 3:56 pm

    Wow yummy all of the foods look so good especially the pancakes they’re on my menu for tomorrows breakfast! x

  5. January 7, 2010 4:11 pm

    Those pancakes sound, and look fantastic.

    Also, I have not heard of that Greek yogurt, I should keep my eyes peeled for them. Cornbread croutons? EXCELLENT idea. Love it.

    As for packing for college, wow, so much to say! I mean I would suggest wait until you get there, and figuring things out at that time. It’s much easier than guessing before, then finding out you don’t need what you bought!

  6. Lexi permalink
    January 7, 2010 4:22 pm

    Holy yum pancakes! Those look heavenly, girl. Get excited for school!! Being scared/freaking out is totally normal. Embrace all of your feelings. This is a once in a lifetime experience. So proud of you and excited for you!

  7. Holly permalink
    January 7, 2010 5:08 pm

    Beek! I am so excited you will be joining me on the East Coast! You’re just a short bus ride away! ;)

    My reccomendation? Bring comfortable, warm boots with treads to handle winter in the big city. I made the mistake of not taking them with me, and tonight I am going out and looking for a pair to take back with me. Bring an umbrella also! It is absolutely miserable to be without one!

    Since winter is like, 41% over or something, I would reccomend bringing versatile winter/spring clothes – like things you can layer. The more purposes a garment has, the less you have to pack – and btw, from experience with people coming to my college from CA and the like, I reccommend shipping your stuff ahead of you so it’s there to meet you!

    As for appliances, definitely check with your manual or the Housing and Res Life people. I know that we are allowed *nothing.* I think a French Press is absolutely it. And nothing in the community kitchens. I need an air purifier with my severe allergies, and that pretty much had to go through the secret police to get approved.

    Be excited! You will do amazingly well! And we better get to meet up at some point!

  8. Jocqulene permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:05 pm

    if frye motorcycle boots weren’t so darn expensive i’d tell you to get a pair of those (if you can convince your mama that they’re an investment [they totally are!] then i’d go for it :) ). they’re olsen-y and cute! otherwise, i’m advice-less.

  9. Katharina permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:10 pm

    I wish I had advice for you! I never lived in the dorms so I don’t know what that’s like. But I’d imagine that if you don’t really think about it when you’re at home.. just leave it there. PAPAYA!!! :D I wish I could give you some from our tree. One day you will be a guest over at our house and you will be greeted with the freshest and most delicious papaya ever + a big hug from me. Those protein pancakes! those look goooood. At first glance I thought it was some kind of pull-apart bread. I am so excited to see what culinary school holds for you.. or what culinary school has headed for it!

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  10. January 7, 2010 6:28 pm

    thanks for the linkage love :)
    brock salad AND kale. yeah, my 2 fave foods that arent choc.
    and the choc ice cream in a glass..how chic and great!
    oh and nice work on the coconut flour p’cakes! i just scored some coconut flour so veganizing those is my next step!

    we’ll chat this weekend on cold weather gear. grew up in the midwest.

    xoxoxo

  11. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    January 7, 2010 7:12 pm

    i recently discovered voskos too, it’s good! protein pancakes are awesome, i’ll have to try the coconut variety pictured!

  12. January 7, 2010 7:41 pm

    ok bfast for dinner is the BOMB DOT COM! im making some pancakes, pro ice cream, and smoothies right now after seeing this! i LOVE buffalo too!

  13. January 7, 2010 8:02 pm

    I have not yet tried the hole mole butter from Deb…I’m kinda saving it until I get my own place again, so I don’t have to share it :)

    Dorm room: If it’s a traditional set-up, I do not think you need a full set of dishes. One or two settings is fine to save space. I don’t think you’ll be doing much entertaining? I think when I was in the dorms, I used paper/plastic stuff (clearly I was not an Environmental Studies major!).

    One appliance that I would REALLY recommend is an electric kettle. Sounds weird and random, I know…but it’s almost INSTANT hot water. So, hot tea/chocolate/coffee, soup packets, instant oats…it seriously takes 2 minutes to boil and you have instant boiling water. So convenient!

    • January 8, 2010 1:42 pm

      Thinny-I am soooo with you on the electric kettle. That and either a george forman grill or an electric grill- when we were living Double Wide Style (another time)- those were the 3 things we had and we could have done away with the forman but we had a tiny one that worked great.

  14. crazylittlethingneela permalink
    January 7, 2010 8:19 pm

    uhhh pancakes! i have yet to discover that amazing american tradition of having pancakes for breakfast. thank you for the reminder beek ;)
    xoxo

  15. greensandjeans permalink
    January 7, 2010 9:33 pm

    I went to school out east and lived in Maine for a year, Averie and I will set you straight on Saturday! In Maine I LIVED in my Merrell boots (http://www.merrell.com/US/en-us/ViewProduct.mvc.aspx/18190W/0/Womens/Yarra?galleryId=W-F). Cute and warm. A magical combination. In college I would not have survived without my hot water pot and microwavable dishes. As much as you love all of what you have, pair it down as much as you can! I brought a bowl, a plate, and mug with me and I left with BOXES. You’re going to be in New York! You better believe you will accumulate some new things! As far as coats go, get something that covers your butt in wool or down. You are also going to need rain boots and a rain jacket. It loves to rain out east. All of the time.

  16. January 7, 2010 11:13 pm

    I just drove past the Culinary Institute’s branch in Napa Valley today! It was beautiful as well!
    Anyways…yeah, packing for college is tough. That would be an extremelyyyy long drive for you, so I can bet that boxing your stuff up and mailing it is your best bet. Honestly, I only have one plate, one bowl, 2 glasses, and one set of utensils in my dorm. It’s pretty pathetic haha. All of my blog dishes at college are photographed on the same blue plates haha. I have a heavy snow jacket, a heavier fall jacket, a spring jacket, a pea coat, and tons of hoodies…so yeah, I guess that’s a fair amount of jackets.
    I’m sure you’re going to love it! And if you get lonely ever, you have the whole blog world to comfort you haha :)

    And I’m totally down for a European backpacking yoga retreat!!

  17. January 8, 2010 1:33 am

    Did you read a Making of a Chef by Michael Ruhlman? Highly recommend it before you go off to CIA. Man, I hope you don’t get too busy, and still update, because I’m gonna live vicariously through you! I once considered applying too!

    But how are you gonna keep up the diet you have now with the rich French cooking?

  18. January 8, 2010 1:43 pm

    Beeks- thanks for the shout- glad you’re enjoying the mole- it is such a weird yet yummy combo.

    Loved seeing all of your eats.

    I JUST 5 minutes ago finished your cumin almonds- did you ever post a recipe?? could you?

    Wine? uh, I thought you were 18.8 yrs old. I never *cough* drank *cough* when I was ‘under age’ ;-)

  19. January 8, 2010 3:22 pm

    oooh, so yummy, I want some protein cocoa pancakes. :) I’d love the recipe!

  20. January 9, 2010 7:40 am

    yum, those pancakes look delicious!

  21. January 9, 2010 11:32 am

    Hey girl!! everything looks awesome. You have so inspired me to give those protein pancakes a try. They look and souns awesome!! When I was in college a hot pot, mini fridge and coffee maker were rockin. Between those things I mastered the art of dorm cookin. ha! Im so excited for you starting school. Culinary, right? I wish you the best of luck sweetie and dont freak out. It’ll be fun!!! Have an amazing weekend!!

  22. Peanut Butter Bliss permalink
    January 9, 2010 3:03 pm

    coconut protein pancakes for breakfast!!? sign me up :) coconut adds SO much flavor. just love it.
    thats so exciting that you’ll be going to the CIA!

  23. January 9, 2010 6:47 pm

    MMMM deb’s nut butter is bangin. voskos is a staple brand for me. i like it second to oikos and love that it has 24g protein per container and only 9 carbs. i have never gone away to college so i dunno about what to bring.. maybe start a list of things you use daily and make sure to tote those along?!

  24. May 17, 2010 11:05 am

    Although your experience was great, it’s kind of disheartening not being able to view the photos!

Trackbacks

  1. Withdrawals « Beek Eats!

Leave a Reply

