Skip to content

Celebrity sighting and review!

January 10, 2010

Look who it is???!?!!!!

For all of you Biggest Loser fans out there (yes, I’m talking to you ladies) that would be Sione and Filipe from Biggest Loser season 7 !!!  Last Tuesday, only a couple hours before the new season of Biggest Loser premiered my mom called me with HUGE, mind blowing news that two of my favorite Loser contestants EVER happened to be advertising a product at the local market my family buys all of our fresh fish and chicken from.

OUTRAGE-IACKED. That is all I have to say.

Sione and Filippe are traveling before they head back to Phoenix next week for the PF Chang’s Marathon (crazy dudes) and marketing this new, 100% USDA Organic drink by the brand Adina, called Adina Holistics. The drink has a lower sugar content than most bottled beverages with only 90 calories in 14 oz!  The sweetness of the bottle comes from organic cane sugar, rather than fake, high-fructose corn syrup.  Can I get an Amen??

Adina describes the “Holistic” drinks as this:
Adina Holistics offer a mix of adaptogenic herbs rather than sugar-laden fillers and utilize actual herbal content, rather than manufactured vitamins and chemicals. These easily assimilated herbs fortify the immune system and vital organs against the debilitating effects of stress.”

I’m not gonna lie.  I was a little skeptical.  First off, I HATE drinking my calories. (I don’t count protein ice cream or smoothies BTW)  I’m a big fan of chewing my caloric intake; never indulging in fruit juices, energy drinks, Vitamin water, Gatorade, soda, lattes, cappuccinos, etc.  I think it’s personally a waste.  The only liquids I typically drink are water, coffee and the occasional glass or mug of tea.

My mom and I gratefully accepted the buy 1, get 1 free offer along with a free tee shirt from Adina. We sampled the drink there at the market and with flavors like Pomegranate Acai, Grapefruit Goji, Blackberry Hibiscus and Peach Amalaki, it was hard to resist!

Pretty good stats,yes?!

I had a bottle of Pomegranate Acai with my lunch the other day.. and ’twas delicious!  I highly recommend it and not just because I’m a huge supporter of these former fatties from The Biggest Loser.  They were both very sweet and kind gentlemen, and so much fun to talk to! Thanks for the fun evening guys!

Drank with my lunch of trout, broccoli, carrot+tahini. The usual.

Another outrageous bowl of custard oats for breakfast, a la Susan.

In the mix:

  • heaping 1/3 cup (probably 1/2 cup, but I used a 1/3 cup measure) of oats
  • 1 cup water, 1 egg (beaten), vanilla extract, dash of cinnamon
  • Topped with Sunspire chocolate chips, spoonful of PB, sprinkle of unsweetened coconut

Nom. Soo good.

Before I hit the sack.. just wanted to give a little shout out to Katharina and HEAB who both sent me really yummy packages.  Heather sent me a thank you gift of her famous Oaties which have been on my “to make” list for only God knows, how long.  Heather, they rocked both my world and my parents world.  Soo good.

Katharina sent me a little package of vegan pumpkin ginger cookies, in the shape of stars, no less! YUM-O.  Be on the look out for those topped on protein ice cream or yogurt. Naturally.

Already indulged in the German chocolate Katharina sent as well. It was all gone before I could snap a photo of the gorgeous insides. :( C’est la vie.  I guess I was hungry.

Stay tuned for TWO new recipe posts… both of which are GOOD for you, and truly, insanely delicious, and another Phoenix blogger meet-up post!  I also finally updated and added a Recipe page, linking to some of the recipes I’ve written about.  Very casual, but you can still check it out.  While I was making it I realized I’ve posted quite a few…  so enjoy!

See you all on the flip side.  Have a restful and peaceful Sunday my friends.  It’s been a long day. Planning on doing some major blog reading tomorrow! =)

XOXO,
Bekah

26 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 1:12 am

    I don’t like to drink my calories either…the drink doesn’t look bad, except that sugar is the 2nd ingredient on the list. I’m assuming you met them and they personally handed you the offer..if so, that’s awesome!! I need to travel from Cali to Phoenix to get in on this meet up!

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    January 10, 2010 1:28 am

    i’m always a skeptic when it comes to health-gimmicky foods/drinks, but if you throw in some kind of $ deal all my doubts go out the window ;)

  3. January 10, 2010 2:25 am

    how fun! i dont watch TBL but i am sure that was exciting. i have been wanting to try custard oats a la susan! they look soooo creamy and dreamy. oh man, heather and katharina are two of the most amazing gals EVER! i love the recipe page, i am just browsing over it now.. looks awesome!

  4. crazylittlethingneela permalink
    January 10, 2010 5:57 am

    biggest loser? i haven’t watched myself but singapore is even making it’s own version of it. so i guess i really need to get myself to watch ha?
    german chocolate? awesome! i can only thank katharina for giving you the best of my country ;)
    xoxo

  5. January 10, 2010 6:06 am

    Cool celeb sighting! Love your oats girl, they look amaaaazing! Can’t wait for the blogger meet up post! I’ve only done one blogger meet-up but had SOOO much fun!

    Love ya girl!
    -Lex

  6. greensandjeans permalink
    January 10, 2010 8:30 am

    It was great meeting you and your mom yesterday Bekah and I am SO jealous of your Biggest Loser celebrity sighting! So fun!

  7. January 10, 2010 8:40 am

    Yeah, the drink has good stats, but they are trying to sell it by fooling the public. Acai berry is this new “super food”, which really hasn’t even been studied enough to have any evidence backing up any extra benefits of the berry. People will buy that because a) the BL people are seeling it and b) it has Acai in it. It’s dumb, people just buy things because of words and people, not because they like it or there is actually evidence of it’s benefit. Sorry, it annoys me. Either way, I’m glad you enjoyed it :) It would have been super annoying if it tasted nasty, so I’m glad it was delicious. I bet it cost an arm and a leg…yeah??

  8. January 10, 2010 8:50 am

    So excited for a Beeks recipe page. ‘Bout time my friend! :)

    I’m just like you. Do not like to drink my calories, but I bet that Adina drink would taste might fine after a difficult hike on a warm Tucson day!

    I have not made custard oats in so long, and your bowl looks awfully tempting, but it’s Sunday. Pancakes are on the menu for today’s breakfast. Need to go get cooking.

    Enjoy the rest of your Sunday Beeks, and I’m so glad you liked the Oaties. :)

  9. January 10, 2010 8:56 am

    Aahhh!! That’s awesome!! I actually didn’t jump on the Biggest Loser bandwagon till Season 7, so all those contestants hold a special place in my heart :)

    I’m obsessed with custard oats. It’s becoming a problem :P

  10. *Andrea* permalink
    January 10, 2010 9:05 am

    that’s soooo cool! i love celeb sitings :) you still look like 1/8th their size though haha. that drink sounds yummy – i’m on your side with drinking calories – smoothies/lattes/coffee yes but not big on juices or sodas. i do love kombucha though. have a great sunday!!

  11. January 10, 2010 10:29 am

    Hi Bekah!!!!! Looks like there was alot of action at WF after I left…wow, I always miss the good stuff :) I would have never known who those guys were as they just look like any other 2 dudes to me. LOL I never watch tv and have never watched TBLoser. But glad you had a brush with fame! And it was great seeing you and your mom and hanging out!!! And yoga…meant to tell you that it was awesome practicing with you!!!
    xoxo

  12. January 10, 2010 11:06 am

    Youre so cute.. what a fun pic!!! I totally would not have known who they were though.. hmmm maybe Im passing celebrities and dont even know it?!
    I dont drink my calories, either. I like food much much more!!

    Happy Sunday, hun :)

  13. January 10, 2010 12:40 pm

    oh my gosh! thats so rad you got to meet them!
    I am not a “calorie drinker” either. i’d rather take in calories through food.

  14. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    January 10, 2010 1:27 pm

    that is so sweet that you met them! how fun :) & your oats ook soo good i wish i could like take them out of hte picture & eat them ahhah. agree w/ calories in drinks- i do drink sometimes, but i hatee getting them from drinks, food is way better (besides smoothies!!)
    xoxo
    shelley

  15. January 10, 2010 4:06 pm

    whoa sooo cool about the celebrity sighting!! what a great drink! love your eats.. have a great day love!

  16. January 10, 2010 10:24 pm

    so much fun! i heart the biggest loser, and liked both those guys! also, i always forget how much i like fish. i forget to buy it at the store, and that trout is calling my name!

    happy almost monday :)

  17. January 10, 2010 10:50 pm

    Wow that sounds like a great drink, all the flavors. I think those guys look amazing too…I love TBL

  18. January 10, 2010 11:43 pm

    Sounds like a fun day for you!!…Can’t wait for the new recipes! =)

  19. January 10, 2010 11:57 pm

    Cool celebrity sighting, though I don’t really know who they are…heh.

    I don’t like drinks at all, unless it’s coffee or tea or diet soda. Even if it’s uber-healthy, hee hee. But hey! You should have more pictures of yourself….I love your face! Seriously, so fun to see! I mean it in a good way, your smile and cheeky grin just lights up my heart!

  20. Katharina permalink
    January 11, 2010 10:51 am

    Yay!! I’m so glad you got the package(s) hehehe. Girl, I don’t blame you – marzipan is DELICIOUS!! The custard oats look so SCRUMPTIOUS.. I think that’s the perfect word. :D Yum yum yum. I hope you have a wonderful week doll.

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  21. January 11, 2010 12:28 pm

    so fun that you got to meet them! Awesome!! Sounds like a good day=) Interesting drink. I’ll have to keep an eye out for it. Im like you and I prefer to eat my calories rather than drink them. But there are always exceptions=) Great lookin custard oats too. What cool gifts you got too. Im sure those oaties and vegan pumpkin ginger cookies were amazing!!! Have a great week!

  22. January 11, 2010 9:12 pm

    Gosh, it’s not that juices and drinks aren’t tasty, but I would never voluntarily consume them due to the calories: exception: capuccinos :-)

    Great that you have a recipe page- will you start a new blog when you move?

  23. January 12, 2010 9:39 am

    Filipe and Sione were my favorites to watch on TBL. I remember that crazy war chant they did. I tried Adina Holistics last week. Dig it a lot. Looks like it has got a lot of herbs in it.

  24. January 19, 2010 7:16 am

    Man, I would love to get some more posts about this topic. Thanks alot.

  25. January 24, 2010 5:00 am

    A pleasure to come to your site. Thanks very much!

Trackbacks

  1. New recipe inspired by meet up! « Beek Eats!

Leave a Reply

