Skip to content

Withdrawals

January 14, 2010

Before I get to this post.. I edited my “About Beek” page with a few new pictures and a more appropriate “about” for the beginning of 2010. :)

Confession:  I am leaving  home to go to the best culinary school in the country in less than two weeks- basically paying thousands of dollars to be fed ten Gourmet-worthy meals A WEEK… and guess what???

I already miss blogger food.

  1. The amount of kale, broccoli and raw carrots  I eat in a week will hardly even fit in a mini fridge.
  2. Toasters are not allowed in dorm rooms.
  3. I’m sneaking in my magic bullet, but I’m pretty positive the motor alone will have me banned from social dorm floor activities. (Who is that freak with the blender and huge ass bin of protein powder?!!)
  4. My stash of raw balls and nut butters come in a close second to my shoe and sweater collection. There is simply no room for 10+ jars of nut butter in a college dorm room. Ah.

That being said.. these last two weeks I’m fully immersing myself in 100% food+meals that I probably won’t see again until I’m living in my own apartment- oh I don’t know.. THREE YEARS FROM NOW?!?!!!

Toast with PB+honey+banana with egg whites.

Honeycrisp with lots of cinnamon, alongside Protein Ice Cream with about a tablespoon of homemade cranberry sauce- giving the ice cream a nice pink hue.

POACHED EGGS.

Eaten with a sample of pumpkin granola and a grapefruit from Deb‘s yard. (Yes, Deb- I really savored your citrus!)

An Ezekiel english muffin with Deb‘s roasted almond butter, honey and banana.

Check out the color of that raw honey?? I don’t know where my parents buy our honey- but we buy it by the gallon. I’m not even kidding- best honey I’ve ever had. I grew up on this stuff.

Lunch- tuna salad, raw veggies, hummus, tabbouleh, radishes.

Acai smooothie. With pumpkin granola.

Breakfast bowl- Voskos 0% with a crumbled oatie, and pumpkin ginger cookie, frozen blueberries and banana.

Salad with chicken, veggies, cranberry sauce, tahini.

Protein ice cream pimped out with more ice+water than usual, fluffled in the vita instead magic bullet, leading to a monstrous KERF bowl full of espresso-vanilla-protein-shake.   (There was even un-documented leftovers that I slurped up from the vita mix.)

Magic bullet made cocoa protein ice cream. Less voluminous, but oh-so creamy. Topped with coconut+cacao nibs.

Massaged kale, two boiled eggs, and a whole carrot with salsa.

Tuna salad and more massaged kale.

Don’t fret- when I do eat in my dorm, you most likely will be seeing plenty of raw veggies that will keep- i.e carrots, broccoli, cucumber etc., microwaved egg whites, oatmeal, yogurt, canned tuna, apples…………

Meh, that’s all I got for now.

Just wanted to take some time to thank you all for being so helpful with my dorm+cold weather questions and fears.  Seriously the responses I got on that post were incredibly helpful.  And thank you to those of you who keep returning and giving me so much love week after week.  It means the world.

While at school, the whole point of this blog is to keep up with it!  I know my google reader-ing will inevitably have to shrink quite a bit, but just know that if you ever want to chat- you can always e-mail, and I’m still reading your blog!  I may even have to save blog reading for the weekend- but  I will always eventually catch up.

But I’m getting ahead of myself !  Hope you all had a great Wednesday.. and lots of love.

XO,

Shelley is having her first giveaway!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. traynharder23 permalink
    January 14, 2010 12:49 am

    ahaha yay for peanut butter! never had peanut butter banana toast tho! =D

    ahha oh dorm living. sigh. never got that experience!

  2. January 14, 2010 12:49 am

    kale, broccoli, raw balls…i can understand how you’d miss them! don’t i know!!!

    but hon, you will survive probably on ridic exotic, expensive, gourmet foods…many of which you created and developed. wow. this is going to be such an amazing!!!! time in your life!

    And btw, I hope it goes without saying, that school and this whole experience should (and will!) be your focus and that the b’sphere will miss you, but we’ll always be here. the CIA will not, so enjoy, immerse, live life. as an 18 yr old in NY should be!!
    xoxox

  3. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    January 14, 2010 1:19 am

    ahh so exciting that you’re going to culinary school! have so much fun!

  4. January 14, 2010 1:29 am

    bekah, my dear, just PROMISE me you’ll have the BESt time in your life, ever. And take pictures in your chef attire. Girls look hot in whites and chef hats. :D

    Oh, and please keep in touch! Email me whenever you want, too!

  5. January 14, 2010 2:26 am

    This definitely made me laugh!! I am also living the “college” life in a studio apartment and I only have a “half” fridge as well….I feel your pain, and couldn’t help but chuckle! You will find what works for you, and you will make a way (Maybe give up some of your closet space for pantry! haha…) We just bought a freezer and it’s really funny that we have no room for anything here, but we have this freezer so I can cook healthy meals! ha….Life is just like that, it’s all about the sacrifices…Good luck and enjoy your last two weeks before you leave!

  6. January 14, 2010 2:28 am

    I know how college can make things harder with food. On my uni, cafeteria sucks, no healthy options there. So thank god I live in apartment and can make my own food, and take it with me.
    But you don’t have to worry, going to culinary school will make things easier and amazing!

  7. January 14, 2010 5:41 am

    I’m not sure if you mentioned this, but is there a dining hall at your new school? I remember my dining hall had tons of fresh fruits and veggies that I would steal away and put up in my room too :)

    I love that you’re not going to change your love of blogger food when you leave for school. Stay true! I am so excited for you Beek! Seriously! Keep positive and strong :)

  8. crazylittlethingneela permalink
    January 14, 2010 6:31 am

    aww beek im sure you’ll have a fab time there and realize that maybe their food is even better than bloggers food. well maybe except for oatmeal. i don’t think anything beats that ;)

  9. January 14, 2010 7:25 am

    Beeks,
    Don’t you dare feel guilty about not reading blogs…ever. Google Reader Scmeader. You enjoy every minute of school, and I can’t wait to read all about it even if you’re reading HEAB or not. Deal?

    Oaties crumbled on Greek yogurt. I bet that tasted so good, and your fluffy protein ice-cream, especially the cranberry one is cracking me up. Hello puff – I love it!

    You will find a way to get in your favorite blogger eats. You will, and if it makes you feel any better, we never refrigerate and nut or seed butters besides tahini. I eat them too fast and never worry about them going rancid. Seriously, it takes months. Just stick a few jars in your sock drawer, and shove some underwear aside for a few kabocha. Save the fridge for your kale. :)

  10. January 14, 2010 7:58 am

    OOH Id miss all those goodies too. Hang in there.. enjoy yourself!!! :)

  11. January 14, 2010 8:37 am

    Just think about the wonderful creations coming at you soon! And when it comes to your own projects you can always use kale, broccoli, oatmeal etc to make delicious, nutritious food and hopefully inspire others in your class!

  12. January 14, 2010 9:22 am

    Seriously, I couldn’t be more jealous. Not only are you going off to COLLEGE (the best time of my life) but you are going to learn how to cook, with the best of the best! That’s just amazing. I really hope you keep up with your blogging, and don’t fret about commenting on other blogs, just make sure you keep showing us all of your fabulous creations! And of course teach us all you know, inside and out :)

    I saw the Magic Bullet should make an appearance in the dorm, for sure. You will MAKE friends with that thing! I just got mine and I’m addicted.

  13. January 14, 2010 9:57 am

    Haha I’m sure you will be pleasantly surprised by your gourmet meals. Um, I lived in a normal dorm… and the normal cafeteria was much worse off ;)

  14. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    January 14, 2010 9:57 am

    aw you are going to do great at school! i am so exited for you :)

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  15. January 14, 2010 10:47 am

    Don’t worry! I’m able to keep a ton of healthy food in my room (including 6 jars of nut butter) in a bubble crate and stuff even more in my mini fridge. You can fit more than you think! Just have to get creative ;0)

  16. January 14, 2010 1:50 pm

    i couldnt have a toast in my freshie dorm either!! glad you can have a microwave tho. i microwaved eggs like all the time! do you like your cafeteria girl?

  17. January 14, 2010 1:56 pm

    So much going on for you! Bummer about the toaster :( I am so proud of you for sneaking in the Bullet! Can’t wait to hear about your late-night smoothie adventures ;)

    Is that honey on the egg whites I see?! If it is, you are a genius. I LOVE sweet stuff (i.e. maple syrup) with fried eggs :)

  18. January 14, 2010 3:09 pm

    I remember living without kale for my freshmen year. I felt like a strange kid missing kale, but now I see I’m not alone! I ate a lot of instant oatmeal, cereal, and nuts that first year. I’m so happy to have a kitchen this year! College food sucked…hopefully the CIA will be quite different!! Their restaurants are pretty impressive.

  19. January 14, 2010 3:43 pm

    oh man. i am sure your new living arrangements will take some getting used to.. but i am also sure you will make it work and LOVE IT!!!

  20. greensandjeans permalink
    January 14, 2010 4:16 pm

    Bekah I am so excited for you! Can’t wait to read all about it! Oh, and I was definitely serious about a New York pancake date when I’m there in February if you can find the time! I could definitely use a shopping buddy for a couple of hours! Enjoy the rest of your time in Tucson and with your family!

  21. January 14, 2010 4:34 pm

    All your eats look ssoo good. Im so excited for you girl!!! Go have fun at school. It will be a blast. I hear ya though about the food. When Im on vaca and am surrounding by all these amazing foods sometimes I just miss my old comforts, hehe. But its always awesome try out some new stuff too. I hope you have the best time at school. You will be awesome!! Take care!

  22. January 14, 2010 7:30 pm

    wow this is all so exciting!! you will have the most amazing time. I do understand the withdrawl from some food, but just think of this as temporarybecause afterwards you will be whippign up some even more delicious food!!! however two thumbs up for sneaking the magic bullet! what a great idea :)

  23. January 14, 2010 10:19 pm

    OK Beeks, I’m not trying to make you into a worse criminal than you already are (hello, MB in the DORM!!!), but seriously if you want toast, why don’t you sneak in one of those teeny tiny single serving sized George foremans?? You can totally do toast or panini in them and about a zillion other things. How can you have a loud MB if it’s not allowed??? Won’t someone snitch on you?

    Anyway, where there’s a will, there’s a way. You can tots do kabocha in the micro. and as heabs said- you can keep the nut butters in your sock drawer. You’ll do great!

    Hungry girl has about 389 “eggs in a mug” recipes. I have faith that you’ll do great. And more importantly you’ll meet so many fun peeps and learn soooo much.

    So excited for you!
    D

  24. Katharina permalink
    January 15, 2010 5:07 pm

    This post makes me want to give you a big hug!!! May the force be with you and the magic bullet. Who knows – that blender may actually make you a star ;) People love the magic bullet and in turn they will love you lolol. You can be like.. in order to use my blender you must fold all my clothes for me mwahahaha. Bekah–Ruler of the Dorms.

    XOXO

    p.s. I am happy to see the pumpkin ginger cookies being put to good use ;)

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  25. January 16, 2010 1:02 pm

    Okay, seriously. Culinary schools should have kitchens in each dorm room. I mean, you can all obviously cook! :P Plus, you’ll be in NY, total foodie heaven. Oh! And I bet you’ll find a slew of new foods to love and obsess over. However, I recommend you get your parents to ship that honey to you. That looks GOOD!

  26. Kaysie permalink
    January 18, 2010 9:10 am

    I used to microwave eggs and egg whites in college. I would pam a glass/ceramic bowl plop usually 1 egg and 2 more egg whites put a paper towel over and micro for about 90 seconds. It would pop a little but oh so good

  27. January 19, 2010 12:24 pm

    oooh…those looks AWESOME!

    And school will be great! I hope it’s fantastic for you! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Last week of eats « Beek Eats!

Leave a Reply

