Skip to content

A snowy dorm breakfast!

January 30, 2010

Welll.. where did we last leave off?  I was getting excited about my first dorm room breakfast of oatmeal and french press no doubt…  And let me tell you- I FORGOT how good oatmeal in the microwave was!  Here is how it goes down: I buy a big container of quick cooking oats and microwave 1/2 cup with 1 cup water and whatever flavorings I like- I throw in (cinnamon, vanilla extract, sometimes stevia, sometimes banana, etc.) and 3 minutes later.. wah-la!  The creamiest bowl of oats ever!

Reese’s Oats in the style of K- with a spoonful of Arrowhead Mills peanut butter and carob chips.  Wednesday breakfast success.

With still relatively nice weather on Day 2 of Orientation I donned a nice pair of lace up pointy toed shoes, grey pants and a dark green turtle neck sweater.

—————-Apparently lunch and dinner were not very memorable- because I cannot locate evidence of these meals ever occurring. Failure.————

Breakfast Thursday though was absolutely fabulous.  Before my first day of classes I fixed chocolate protein oats in the microwave:  In the bowl went- 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, 1/2 packet of Spirutein Chocolate Whey Protein, 2 T cocoa powder- with a spoonful of Dark Chocolate Dreams.  So delicious!  This bowl was inspired by none other than Miss Mitri over at All in the Oats.

While eating this gorgeous bowl of oats- I opened my blinds and Oh my goodness! SNOW!!!

Yeeaah. I get it people.  Not a big deal whatsoever.  It snows everywhere, all the time.  My “business casual” outfit it totally NOT a big deal at all.  I get it.  But this is all new to me, so forgive me for my unnecessary excitement and overwhelming amount of pictures due to said, excitement.

Copied yesterday’s outfit except opted for a black v-neck sweater with a red scarf which *hopefully* added a little bit of variety. ;)

Notice Mr. Backpack walking to class… pretty sure I have all my classes with this dude- and it seems like I’m following him everywhere, we’re even in a class project together by coincidence for my class of Gastronomy, and he just happened to sneak his way into my snow picture.  I promise though- I am NOT stalking him!  Aghcck.

Gotta love the snow function on my Canon.

Lunch while it snowed Thursday: I seriously felt like I was at Hogwarts watching the pillows of white forming outside the window of the banquet dining room.

Appetizer of tomato soup- perfection on a snowy day.

Meatloaf! Creamed corn, green beans and mashed potatoes.

Dinner Thursday: From “Kitchen of the Mediterraneans”- “Trout Almondine” with squash and green beans and untouched buttered parsley potatoes. <<<I know from certain *restaurant kitchen experience*- A LOT of butter goes into those babies!

The veggies were delicious though!

Breakfast Friday:

To my surprise, I snoozed my way through my alarm one too many times, so instead of a leisurely oatmeal/french press breakfast I had to adapt to a banana hammock- made with almond butter and carob chips, chocolate brownie z-bar, and Via coffee breakfast.  C’est la vie.  :) Kudos to Katie though for making such a quick, easy, go-to snack/meal SO TASTY!

Lunch Friday:

Fancy fish sticks with a remoulade sauce and coleslaw for appetizer.

Lunch entree was one of my favorites so far: Roasted pork loin with a green chili/tomatillo? sauce, potato cake and chorizo stuffing.  Underneath the pork lay some fancy-shmancy squash that could not be identified by any of the culinarians sitting at my table.

After lunch by Friday it was quite sunny outside!  But daaamn cold.  We’re talking 6-10 degrees.  Ladies and gentlemen- I have never even felt this kind of weather.  I now understand why Rose (while laying in the middle of the ocean while Titanic was sinking) could not physically yell for help.  It’s so hard to even breathe/talk!

Dinner Friday:

Some kind of andouille shrimp stew.  I ate the shrimp and had a bite of the cornbread.  Yum yum yum- the foodie in me was getting very excited about this cornbread.  Not gonna lie.

Salad bar!  Raw vegetables!  First time seeing raw vegetables all week- besides the enormous bag of carrots I have in my mini fridge.  I thought you guys would be proud.

Other than that.. I’ve been eating my fair share of chocolate and carob in my room.  I also drink some Heabified/Averiefied Hot Chocolate- Every. Single. Night.  What else is there to do?? It is so darn cold outside, that this drink is perfection.

So tell me, what’s your favorite dorm room/small apartment/microwave breakfast-lunch-dinner?  Today was  a Saturday- which meant nothing was open on campus and I had to improvise.  It went okay.  I have plenty of food, so never fear- I’m at culinary school…there is no way I’m going to starve!  I have also been surprising myself at how quiet I can be with washing dishes, making oatmeal, microwaving my water, etc. in the early mornings.  I have two roommates mind you- and all three of us have a different schedule at this point!  All sleeping at different times and whatnot.

This morning I did a yoga podcast in the fitness classroom studio- no one was in there, and it ended up being one of the best yoga classes I’ve ever done.  Not being at home doing yoga is so much less stressful!  Doing yoga in my bedroom at home can be very distracting at times, and here the hour just whizzes by.  Thankfully.

I think I’m going to start replying to comments in the comment section- y’all are so encouraging and sweet and you have no idea how much your comments mean to me- so feel free to check back, get reply notifications, but no worries if you never see my reply.

Also: A lot of you have asked about my roommate(s). I have two- and I definitely lucked out. Both are seemingly normal, my age, and I share similarities and differences with both of them. I don’t see us being best friends which is probably realistic, but they are super easy to talk to and be around. They both don’t mind about my early morning coffee making habits either- which is always a plus in my book!

Also a little hello to any lurkers from my culinary class!

Have a fabulous Sunday friends! I hope your week was grand.

XO,

EDITED TO ADD: Go check out this post of Kendel‘s!  She’s a relatively new blogger and this is one of my favorite posts ever.  Inspired by Roald Dahl’s revolving rhyme poetry.  So neat!

Chrysta is hosting a chocolate giveaway!

Kristen is giving away a bread machine!

40 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 12:22 am

    Love the banana hammock idea – cute. Have fun playing in the snow =)

    ~ The Nutrition Nut

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    January 31, 2010 1:27 am

    lol mr backpack..surrreeee you’re not stalking him! i love oats in the micro, i’ve never made them on the stovetop- one less pot to clean! your outfits are so cute! i’m totally living vicariously through you and your culinary school adventures, awesome!

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    January 31, 2010 2:10 am

    sounds like things are going great at school! you look gorgeous in all your pictures! those oats look amazing too– i love yogurt messes at school, super quick and easy!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. Lexi permalink
    January 31, 2010 4:53 am

    Dorm eats can be fun! I always used to turn to microwaved oats :)

    Glad you’re having a great time and that your roommates are good!

  5. January 31, 2010 6:36 am

    Wow everything looks absolutely delish! x

  6. January 31, 2010 7:31 am

    Wowow, all that food looks gorgeous. I would like that pork please :)

    I still eat microwave oats! It’s great for days when I don’t have the time to let them simmer on the stove. My favourite way to eat microwave oats is with yogurt and berries on top :) Oh! You can steam veggies in the microwave, I do it all the time. Just put them in a dish with a little bit of water, partially cover it, and heat for a few minutes. I also cook tofu in the microwave sometimes :)

    You are too cute in your outfits and in the snow! I don’t understand how people can run in cold weather like that, it really is hard to breathe in!

  7. January 31, 2010 8:01 am

    You are without a doubt the cutest thing I’ve ever seen in your red scarf and hood! :)
    I always thought it would be so cool to go to school at Hogwarts! Let’s open a Hogwarts!
    (P.S. Have you heard they’re making a theme park? I heard a rumor about it years ago, but never heard anything since… I hope it’s true!!)

    • January 31, 2010 10:34 am

      Katie! The theme park opens very soon! I believe this spring. I sooo want to take a road trip to Florida (never been to Universal) to go see it.

      But I’m dead serious- in the biggest dining hall especially- with all the students in their chef whites eating dessert upon dessert, it feels like Hogwarts! Now I need to find myself a Ron.

  8. January 31, 2010 8:09 am

    Wah la! haha love it! Glad the snow makes you so happy, I find it really irksome that I couldn’t leave the house this weekend. Bleh. Keep warm!

  9. January 31, 2010 9:40 am

    I’m glad you’re experiencing some snow! That is so exciting for you! I’m also very impressed with the meals they’re serving you. I know, I know, it’s culinary school, but I’m impressed nonetheless. And go meet backpack boy, haha.

    • January 31, 2010 10:36 am

      Ok- maybe shouldn’t have made a huge emphasis on backpack boy. Not for me. :/ Lol- but I do seriously follow him everywhere!

      Yeah I’m impressed too- I’m like “oooh, THIS is why I’m paying so much to go here!”

  10. January 31, 2010 9:43 am

    All of my oats are made in the microwave ;) Thanks for mentioning me! Made my smile light up!

    It’s so cool that you are sharing your new school experiences with us; being a culinary student with a blog is quite a unique perspective ’round here, as far as I’m aware. You look happy :)

  11. January 31, 2010 10:14 am

    Beeks,
    Your culinary school eats look amazing. I think the trout almondine is my favorite thus far…although those chocolate protein oats looked mighty tasty.

    It’s 10 degrees here in Nashville, and I’m trying to talk myself into take the dogs for a walk in the snow…so not wanting to in this moment. Would much rather stay inside and drinking HEABified hot chocolate. :)

    Your business casual look and red scarf is adorable, and I’m so happy you found a good place for your yoga!

  12. greensandjeans permalink
    January 31, 2010 10:39 am

    Love the pointy shoes! Of course, cute shoes + snow usually don’t mix very well… In college I lived on oatmeal and cereal and yogurt. I would even eat one of those instead of going to dinner at the dining hall because I was lazy, then again I didn’t have fabulous CIA meals waiting for me! I’m glad to hear that you don’t have crazy roommates and that you have already found someone to stalk! All very important parts of the college experience.

  13. Holly permalink
    January 31, 2010 10:52 am

    Bekah,

    It’s so great to see you settling in! I am so glad I am not the only one that takes pictures of my outfits in my wardrobe mirror – I bombard my mom with “Does this look okay?!” emails. Oatmeal is the stuff of life, right? Glad you at least have a French press – that’s all we are allowed, too. Love your Titanic reference! I just walked two miles – the temp. was 14 and the “feels like” temp was -2. Craziness! Where is spring?! It’s a long time coming on the coast, or so it seems!

    • January 31, 2010 11:00 am

      I walked yesterday about 1 mile and a half to Starbucks. 12 degrees. Felt like death. But it was worth it! I was happy to discover SB was a walk away and not a cab ride! :)

      I know.. the outfit pictures.. maybe not an everyday thing, but definitely here and there, I want to post the cute outfits!

  14. Nicole G permalink
    January 31, 2010 10:53 am

    Hi! I’m a new reader. I don’t have my own blog but I’ve been following a ton of foodie blogs for the past year or more now and I stumbled upon yours yesterday. It’s a fabulous read and I can’t wait to hear more about your time at CIA.

    Your dorm oatmeal makes me jealous that I’m graduating this semester and I’ve never yet made such delicious looking oats at my dorm LOL

    Good luck with the cold,
    Nicole G

    • January 31, 2010 10:59 am

      Thanks for reading Nicole! I love new readers especially those that don’t have blogs. Congrats on graduation though- that is awesome! I have a whileee to go… ;) Plenty of yogurt bowls and oatmeal in my future that’s for sure.

  15. January 31, 2010 11:19 am

    Bekah-

    I’m new to your site, but I’m loving reading about your experience at CIA. The food looks incredible, and I love seeing how your are managing it all. I was looking at going to CIA, but I am just shopping around looking at different schools. It is very interesting to see a day in the life at CIA from your point of view.

  16. January 31, 2010 12:26 pm

    Hi Pookie how are you!
    Good by the looks of the photo by this caption: Wednesday breakfast success.

    I like you in that one alot!! So mature, profesh looking, and love it!

    Glad you’re enjoying solo yoga classes :) and hot chocolate. Thx for the shout!

    Glad to hear that you are stockpiling on fresh greens & produce more than I am :) and that your mommma may make you some raw balls twss. And also that your roomies are “normal”. I was neve bff’s with mine, we coexisted and that was that. And then when i was 17 i rented my own apt. Done w/ roomies ever since thank god b/c i admit, not a fan.

    Oh and Dave and Cheryl..the weekends after you came to yoga 1. they have never done anything with the chanting like that ever again. 2. the classes had 20 people each in them and 3. they took studio space. I just felt really bad b/c that was not the yoga experience I wanted you to have WITH ME! It wasnt bad, it just wasnt the side I would have preferred you catch; but that’s our yoga sometimes i guess…dealing with what we get :) Anyway wanted to mention that.

    xoxox

  17. January 31, 2010 1:47 pm

    Bekah, you rock my socks off! Thanks for plugging me not only once on your blog- but twice! I also appreciate all of your great comments! Oh, and the food you’re eating looks absolutely amazing. There really are perks to being a culinary arts student, huh? So when you open your own restaurant, I’ll be the first to make a reservation!

  18. January 31, 2010 2:33 pm

    Glad things are going well – stay warm!! (Just a note…seems like they serve HUGE portions of meat to you guys – just an observation) Hope you are enjoying your classes. Have fun with all the snow! NY is so beautiful…

  19. January 31, 2010 2:44 pm

    How cute is that outfit?! Can I request a combo food blog/fashion blog? Please? So much fun to read.

    Oh and your chocolate oats in the morning were drool-worthy. I actually like spirutein.

    I think that even if CIA is expensive, you need to look at it like this: you are paying to eat at a gourmet restaurant for lunch and dinner 5 days a week- NOT BAD!

    PS What makes you think that your future husband isn’t the one following you (that would be BackpackMan) and not the other way around?

    So fun to see you enjoying, and yes I agree when I was in that kinda cold, it hurt just to inhale.
    <3

    • January 31, 2010 3:32 pm

      Hahaha once again.. future hub= NOT backpackman. :/ He just happens to be around everytime I turn the corner!

      I looove fashion and food equally, so I’ve actually been missing school the past 9 months because of the outfits. I love having to get dressed up! Thanks for your praise Deb.

      Yeah- the unlimited salad bar, the biodegradable to-go containers that can be used anywhere, and the unlimited freshly pumped chocolate milk that they get locally?!!! I’m like “oooh this is why I’m paying this much to come here!” I’m trying to engage in as much as I can while still staying true to my nutritious freak self. :)

  20. Tenaya permalink
    January 31, 2010 6:42 pm

    Bekah,
    You should let your readers know that the reason Farquharson Dining Room (where you eat all your meals) reminds you of Hogwarts is because of the history of the CIA. Our tour guide told us and then I looked it up on the website. It used to be the St. Andrew-on-Hudson Jesuit novitiate. The CIA was founded in 1946, but when it became too big and they had to find a new home they purchased the Jesuit property in the Hudson Valley @ Hyde Park in 1970. I peeked inside the Farquharson Dining Room and there are stained glass windows in there. It is gorgeous. And the high arched ceilings are amazing. It looks like a monastery.
    Thanks for the call last night.
    Love you,
    Mama

  21. crazylittlethingneela permalink
    January 31, 2010 7:56 pm

    beek you’re so cute. woh-la?? isn’t that voi-la? haha ;) sorry i am being the nerd here!
    gosh the food you’re getting is looking fantastic! and i am so glad that you’re roomies are good to get along with.
    yoga sounds amazing and i can totally relate how you can get distracted ;)

  22. Eliza permalink
    January 31, 2010 10:30 pm

    hey! i just wanted to say hi because i just started a blog! i think its really cool that you’re going to culinary school…i’m about your age and i love seeing other young people interested in cooking, etc! your blog is super cute!

  23. January 31, 2010 10:40 pm

    OH my ggosh ur cafeteria is amazing! i hated my cafe :) but our schools are totally different!
    you are so cute in that snow pic!
    i ALWAYS eat my oats microwaved!!

  24. Kaysie permalink
    February 1, 2010 7:59 am

    Favorite snack/bfast/lunch in a dorm:

    slice apple thinly
    whip together equal parts PB or sunbutter and vanilla yogurt (I use coconut milk yogurt but you could use dairy yogurt)

    dip the apple and enjoy
    sometimes I add vanilla protein powder to the dip if I’m wanting extra protein

    • February 1, 2010 8:17 am

      YES! Definitely going to steal an apple at meal time and try this. I have PB and yogurt up the wazooo.

  25. February 1, 2010 11:57 am

    look @ all that snow! i’m sure it snowed when i was in college (i went to school in new england) but i can’t remember it now. it was THAT long ago.

  26. February 1, 2010 1:55 pm

    Chica, you look like you are doing wonderfully in the eats department despite your dormy restrictions! So excited to hear more about culinary escuela!!

  27. February 1, 2010 7:19 pm

    As one of those culinary class lurkers, I must agree the food everywhere is just insane. I’m not used to eating like this, and I’m starting to figure out little tricks. I’m afraid all this butter is an unavoidable fact of life at this point. I love the banana hammocks! Perhaps one of the greatest creations I’ve seen in a while. An oh yeah, the cold this weekend, what was that, WHAT WAS THAT? I got some Thai food with one of my roommates and the walk back from the parking lot was brutal, bone chilling, ok see you in class.

  28. February 1, 2010 9:23 pm

    Thanks so much for the comments about the protein – I’m so excited about it! And thanks for the prayers too :D

    Love your french press coffee and oats girlie! Looks so good :)

    So happy for you that you have awesome roomies!!! I love hearing about how everything is going for you at school :D

  29. February 1, 2010 11:07 pm

    Your snow day outfit is very cute…and so is backpack boy – are you SURE you’re not stocking him? just kidding

    It has been cold here in Texas too and I have also been enjoying some of HEABs hot chocolate!

  30. Christine permalink
    February 2, 2010 5:08 pm

    great blog!!

  31. February 2, 2010 9:05 pm

    I can’t get over how lucky you are, and how much I wish I was back in college after reading this post! However, your college experience is far more unique than mine, but I still loved it.

    I love all the dining halls photos, I’ve never seen anything like it.

    Your oats are amazing, and I am really wanting to try that spice combination. I’m just surprised it’s so creamy when you use water! I guess my steel cut oats are creamy, and I use water, but I also add peanut butter!

    I’m glad you’re loving the city and the new life, and of course, education! Have a great night.

  32. hmetivier permalink
    February 3, 2010 12:00 pm

    Hey, we just came across your blog and loved it. We would really like to send you a complimentary case of Vita Coco. Let us know if you’re interested. Please e-mail us at info@smile.ly if you’re interested. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Smile.ly Team

  33. February 3, 2010 5:14 pm

    Holy smokes your cafe at your school is so awesome! :)

  34. Esperanza permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:49 pm

    I really wanted to know more about dorm life and I did !!
    it made me kinda want to start my own wordpress page!! lol

Leave a Reply

