Skip to content

Oatie in a pinch

February 5, 2010

My craving for Heather’s maple-nut-oaties finally subsided yesterday when I realized that I had almost every ingredient in my dorm room to make an oatie, which I have previously made before.

Now.. these were not as good because I could not bake it, so it didn’t turn out quite as chewy, but the flavors were definitely there!  Success.

I combined approximately: 2 T instant oats, 1 t almond butter, 1/2 T maple syrup, 1/2 T unsweetened shredded coconut, 1/2 t vanilla extract, a big shake of cinnamon, 6 chocolate chips.  I formed it into a ball and stuck it in the freezer for a few minutes.  This adds up to be about 130-140 calories- which some might say is calorically dense- but I’d probably consume this in a day anyway with my mass consumption of chocolate chips and nut butter by the spoon. C’est la vie right?

Speaking of flavor- last night I went to the CIA‘s “Fine Grind Society” meeting- basically a glorified name for Coffee Club.  But fancy name aside- it was definitely a really neat, informative meeting and environment!  We did a coffee cupping which I had never done before, and quite a few people were there to meet to.  I will definitely be returning.

Looks like shots of dark beer right? Wrong.

Now a little background: This weekend the CIA is hosting the American Bocuse D’or competition.  Bocuse D’or is the world’s culinary olympics held every four years in France.  It is where the best of the best show off their skills.   The USA hosts their own Bocuse D’or to determine which American chef will be representing our country in France.  This year it is here.  At the CIA.  This weekend.

I could not have come at  a better time.  The competition is open to the public- but all students here have the opportunity to go and be a spectator.

This Wednesday, Thomas Keller (celebrity chef, owner/founder of French Laundry) held a demo which I was lucky enough to attend- more on that later- but all day today many chefs are holding book signings, cooking demos, speeches, etc. on campus and tomorrow is the Bocuse D’or.  Famous people in this industry are going to be everywhere.   I cannot contain myself.  The buzz around campus is insane.

How does this tie into Coffee Club?!!

During our cupping… Thomas Keller and Daniel Boulud literally walked right in to say hello!  Just like that.

First I saw Thomas Keller… followed by Daniel.. it was amazing.

I will never second guess any decision I have on attending coffee club, ever again.

That’s it for now!  I have major posts scheduled this weekend and next week, but thought I’d share my little batch of excitement that went on yesterday.  Currently.. about to go take a math test!

Have a fantastic Friday!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 9:00 am

    i want an oatie!! they look so great!! this school sounds so amazing and youa re having a fantastic time! one which you will remember forever! that is so cool about the ‘cooking olympics’

    have a great day!!!

  2. February 5, 2010 10:29 am

    Bekah, this sounds like such a fun experience already! I think the CIA would be any foodies dream. I wonder how many celeb chefs you’ll be seeing over your years there. P.S., Super cute how you are whipping up some real recipes in your no-kitchen dorm.

  3. February 5, 2010 11:09 am

    If my sister found out about Keller she would flip! She tried going when she lived in the Bay Area to French Laundry but it was 250 dollars and that was just a bit out of her budget! Keep up the dorm cooking, it could be a good outlet to get creative!

  4. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    February 5, 2010 1:48 pm

    good luck with your test! it sounds like you are having such fantastic experiences already, so excited for you1

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  5. February 5, 2010 2:17 pm

    So cool! Sounds like school is totally rockin’ for you!!

  6. February 5, 2010 2:51 pm

    Your posts havent been coming up on my google reader.. blah!!! I need to catch up on all your yummy eats!

    Uh, wow, Beek, your days are much more exciting than mine.. sounds like a fabulous time, so far. Kick some booty on that math test! :)

  7. February 5, 2010 4:09 pm

    aww have a GREAT weekend love!!
    those oaties look great!
    goood luck on your test!

  8. February 5, 2010 4:45 pm

    Well duh! Of course coffee club is always a great idea!! :P I love the oatie for one. I’m saving this. My co-workers have put the kybosh on healthy desserts, so I wouldn’t be able to pawn off the remainder of a whole batch on them!

    Good luck on the test!! xoxo

  9. February 5, 2010 4:49 pm

    How awesome! I am a huge fan of Thomas Keller. How lucky are you to have met him. :)

  10. greensandjeans permalink
    February 5, 2010 4:56 pm

    Anything involving coffee is NEVER a bad choice! You have had such incredible experience in your short period of time there Bekah!

  11. February 5, 2010 5:06 pm

    I can’t believe my oatie recipe made it into the same post as Thomas Keller and Daniel Boulud. I feel famous. :)

    CD has made your instant oaties at night. Don’t ever make an entire batch and eat it raw right before trying to go to sleep. BAD IDEA.

    Coffee Club sounds like my kind of “beer” tasting!

  12. February 5, 2010 6:49 pm

    Lots of luck on your big test! Your oaties sound really good! Like a way simplar version of a cliff bar!

  13. Holly permalink
    February 5, 2010 8:53 pm

    It sounds like you are incredibly busy and excited for life – just like it’s supposed to be! Isn’t your new environment one that’s much easier to maintain the “be here, focus on the present” state of mind in? Keep it up! You’ve hit the ground running!

  14. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    February 5, 2010 11:30 pm

    so cool that two amazing chefs came to your class!! you’re living it up at the CIA aren’t ya?! thomas keller is such a hero…the french laundry isn’t far from where i live but it’s still out of my reach, $$$$ boo!

    • February 6, 2010 7:12 am

      Yeah I have never been to the French Laundry either my dear.. one day, one day.

  15. February 6, 2010 1:01 am

    Sooo happy for you, Beek and what great pics!

    Re the freezer oaties, I have been making what i call no-bake vegan PB chocolate chip protein bars. Same concept. Oats, nut butter, maple, coconut, (protein powder really is optional) and the freezer.

    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/01/vegan-peanut-butter-choc-chip-protein.html

    You get an A+++ for thinkin outside of the box :) Necessity is the mother of invention no doubt!
    xoxo

  16. Deb-the one who's scared of calories :-) permalink
    February 6, 2010 1:09 am

    Good job! Reminds me of when I made peanut butter protein balls in the hotel coffee pot for the Canadian rellies the day we left banff! Allie knows all about that shenanigan of mine.

    Could you pop them in the microwave on half power n see how it changes? Bet it was amazing raw though.

    Ahh Thomas Keller & FL. Heaven.

    • February 6, 2010 7:11 am

      hhahaha what IS calorie anyway? BOO.

      so so so jealous that you’ve been/eaten to the FL!

      • February 6, 2010 1:56 pm

        I had my first ever Foie Gras there- and my life will never be the same again. Forget calories, cruelty and everything else.

  17. February 6, 2010 10:25 am

    That must have been amazing to see Thomas Keller and Daniel Boulud, live, just walk into the room you were in! Very cool! You are in a good place! And those oaties… yum!!

  18. February 6, 2010 6:12 pm

    Isn’t that the award that Kevin (from Top Chef) won?? Keep me updated on the CIA training. I am in awe girl!

    Have a good weekend!
    LC

  19. February 6, 2010 11:38 pm

    wow Thomas Keller AND Daniel Boulud!!!

  20. February 7, 2010 10:15 am

    i think its so creative that you made oaties in your dorm!! just goes to show that you don’t always need a kitchen to cook in college :)

  21. February 7, 2010 11:17 am

    So neat!! I want to go to CIA’s coffee club meeting!! Please download Skype and let me join in :) And you got to meet celebrity chefs?! I’m sure those were the first of many oyu will meet while you are there. I’m so glad you are loving your time at school. And, good luck in the math test! So random, right?! But I guess chefs need to know math too, as we all do.

    Have a great Sunday :)

  22. February 7, 2010 11:42 am

    Bekah’s slightly warmed over a candle oaties? :) I need to stop reading your blog as it’s driving me insane with CIA jealousy.

    xoxo,

    A

  23. February 7, 2010 6:37 pm

    Oatie in a pinch = yummy in a sninch (I was exposed to a lot of dr.seuss growing up)!

    Its great to hear you are enjoying school and going after your dreams!

Leave a Reply

