Skip to content

crazy good eats week!

March 3, 2010

Thank you for the lovely feedback regarding my crazy good meal in New Jersey, and my opinions about the importance of eating together.  After reading your comments, I realized I did not quite explain myself as clearly as I could have. Many of you mentioned that sure, it is fun and important to eat together, but we were also made to eat alone!  Of course!  Hellooo, I am a single gal in college, OF COURSE I know what it is like to eat alone. I also enjoy eating alone.  I eat breakfast by myself every single morning, and ladies and gentlemen, it is personally my favorite time of day.

Eating alone, is, well, reason alone, why I cannot wait to be an independent, career, twenty-something working girl.  Fixing myself dinner and whatnot.  I think the point I was trying to make in my previous post was more for my own benefit -to reinstate what I am learning while in school.  At home, I  ate alone a lot.  It was easy for me to get “caught up” in roasting a head of broccoli and vita-mixing protein ice cream (ohh, how I miss you protein ice cream) everyday instead of going out with friends to eat.

For many people, there are certain anxieties that come with eating in a group setting and eating out, and here at school, I am almost forced to eat with people; and what I thought was going to be an extremely stressful situation ended up not bad at all. When you’re not thinking and worrying about the actual act of eating, it is even fun!  Partaking in the Italian Feast in Jersey was only evidence that eating in that kind of environment is healthy, relaxing, rewarding and also attributes to a healthy relationship with food.

Just wanted to clear that up a bit.  :)

MONDAY:

Breakfast: Peanut butter & raw honey oats.

Lunch was another repeat at Banquets.. decided to forgo taking a picture.  When dinner rolled around, my friend and I were just not feeling standing in line to wait for dinner, and we weren’t especially hungry for a full on meal either.  So what did we do?  It was early, so both the desserts and salad bar were still out, so it became salad & dessert for dinner day!

We shared and tried a couple different desserts.  The above being one my of my personal favorites, carrot cake.

An apple tart made with phyllo dough and a Napoleon.

SPOTTED! Anthropologie tissue paper!  Guess what was delivered to me last week to the mail room?

A bowl sent to me via snail mail from Maya.  She was so sweet to send me a little birthday gift.. Thank you Maya!  You’re the best!  I was definitely lacking in the food blogging “bowl” department, so an Anthropologie bowl was so appropriate.

TUESDAY:

For breakfast I definitely had to make use of my new bowl..so the night before I made up a batch of Averie’s overnight protein oats, and slid them in the bowl the next morning.

Averie’s protein oats were perfection!  Definitely making again once I am lacking time in the morning to make breakfast.

Lunch: I ventured downstairs to Asia’s again and ordered the poached flounder wrapped around a spinach stuffed cabbage leaf;  unfortunately, despite its beauty, the dish was extremely rare.  Like, raw.

For dinner guess where we went?  MEDS!  (The word used to describe Kitchen of the Mediterranean.)  Of course we did.  We always go to Meds. I swear, I think the chef in the there knows who we are now..

It was TAPAS night!  OK, I admit, it was a little overwhelming, but that’s what I love about this school…. you can get overly-excited and pile your plate tray as high as the sky, and not eat a single thing if you wanted.

Did I eat the buttery broccoli?  Yes, of course.

(Broccoli TOPPED WITH animal fat Heather??  Yes, I went there.)

Confession: the broccoli was the only distinguishable thing on my tray, so I can’t tell you what all of this was, but it was delicious!

WEDNESDAY:

Breakfast: Vanilla protein coconut oats with coconut butter on top.

In a very large Cali bowl.

We went to Asia’s upstairs for lunch that day, and it was so, much, better.  This kitchen was featuring an entire sushi plate that day, which got me very excited.

So good.  Even the side salad and miso soup (undocumented) were very flavorful.

THURSDAY:

Pretty sure this is the most photogenic, mouth-watering bowl of oatmeal I’ve ever made.

Vanille protein oat bran topped with mini marshmallows, PB and crumbled chocolate covered pretzel!  (Given to me by Roomie #2, who is sadly leaving on her externship this week!  My other roommate and I will be meeting our new roommate next week.)

Lunch was at Americas… I believe red snapper with a citrus salsa.  Not sure on the fish though.

The broccoli and fritters were good!  Unfortunately I got more raw fish.

I’m forgiving because I know I will be in the kitchens soon enough, experiencing my own episodes of raw fish; but I could actually take these plates back down the the Chef in charge of the kitchen, they appreciate knowing what went wrong- but by the time you find a seat, sit down, you’re just ready to eat!

Still hungry after the raw fish, so I ate microwaved leftover roasted butternut squash with spinach and broccoli in my room.

FRIDAY:

Breakfast was canned butternut squash oats with almond butter and maple syrup.

Lunch was “Italy” at Meds- sausage stuffed calamari,which normally I wouldn’t be a huge fan of, but it was okay.  I mainly ordered the dish for the big serving of broccoli rabe!  And pizza on the side.

Dinner Friday was at Asia’s again.

Spicy mango salad hit the spot.

The “special” of pork ribs unfortunately didn’t.  They were a little chewy and tough.  Oh well.  Next time.  :)

SATURDAY:

Mid morning breakfast of leftover canned butternut squash mixed with vanilla protein powder (microwaved) and topped with coconut-chia-granola!  Mmm.

A few of you have asked me a few questions about school and whatnot, so I’m in the process of answering them in an upcoming post; but I figured I’d see if anyone else had any questions, really regarding whatever.  Please feel free to ask.  If not- no worries!  You don’t have to ask me anything!  :)

Once again, I’d like to reiterate that for me personally, eating and food comes down to balance. I have never been one to stick with one eating “mantra” or “style”; for instance, three large meals, small meals, grazing, tasting, snacking, protein vs. carbs, non-fat; because honestly if I did only one of those things, my life (and blog, for that matter) would be boring!  And although I do NOT live by this: life is short, so do whatever the hell you want;  I do live by this: Life is short, so treat your body well, nourishing and taking care of it, but not living in fear of food and eating.  Eat the bread on occasion.  Have an entire serving of dessert.  Or two.  Participate in Sweet Treat Wednesday.  Taste your way through a ten course meal.  By tomorrow, you’ll be back to eating broccoli and protein powder again right?  I know I will!

♥ ♥ ♥

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Little Bookworm permalink
    March 3, 2010 9:26 am

    Just want to say that I think your blog is fantastic! :) Your school looks amazing! The food in this post looks great as well – especially that carrot cake!

  2. March 3, 2010 9:31 am

    Broccoli and protein powder – hehe, 2 of my favorite food groups.

    So, which do you prefer? Broccoli with butter or broccoli BEEKS style with maple syrup and tahini? ;)

    I’m sure Deb will approve of your oats with the crumbled pretzel. I think of her anytime I see sprinkles.

    I want that Anthropologie bowl. LOVE!

  3. March 3, 2010 10:59 am

    awwww beeeeek! i adore you, beautiful girl :)
    your OATS ARE AMAZING!! seriously!! MARSHMELLOWS-i GOT to GET ON THAT ASAP!! and the pretzel! LOVE sweet and savory!
    you are doing amazing and so wonderful-i love carrot cake too!
    love you!

  4. March 3, 2010 2:25 pm

    In Belgium I used to eat alone all the time, and I learned to really love it. I could eat what I wanted when I wanted where I wanted and I didn’t have to coordinate my eating habits with any one else. My family used to always eat together, but now I am often the only one home for dinner, so I eat alone often now, too. I miss the days my family all ate together, I think I’ve had a little too much of eating alone. I’ll have to drag my brother and mom to the table some time soon!

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 3, 2010 2:49 pm

    idk where to begin to comment on this post. Your school sounds amazing and i am so impressed by all the dishes you pictured. Everything looks amazing!! & yay for keepin true to your delicious oats and wearin cute outfits :) maya is soo sweet to buy you that bowl!! i hope you continue loving it <3

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. March 3, 2010 3:14 pm

    I love eating with people, and I wish I made more time to do so. Eating alone just happens to be more convenient, but I much prefer to eat with others. A Mediterranean kitchen, this sounds wonderful! And yes, you should definitely nourish your body with healthy foods, because one of the keys to happiness is feeling good and alive. But a dessert every now and then is nourishment for the mind…like the carrot cake you pictured has my mind really wanting some carrot cake! When made well, carrot cake is definitely one of the best desserts out there in my opinion.

  7. March 4, 2010 2:20 am

    “Pretty sure this is the most photogenic, mouth-watering bowl of oatmeal I’ve ever made.”—
    YES!

    Thanks for the overnight protein oats shout. Glad you made them AND That they worked and will be repeated!
    The sushi and carrot cake. Antrho bowl. Your cute outfits…the lenght of this post made me feel like what it must feel to read one of my posts, as a reader of my blog LOL Epic length. And i love it! I prefer 1 monster from you that’s amazing that i can savor than random piddly ones….I think your eating, and bloggin, strategies are right on :)

    Wow Beeks, you’re just growing up so fast :) xoxo

  8. crazylittlethingneela permalink
    March 4, 2010 3:06 am

    i am still trying to get over the fact that you have all this amazing food made for you in your college. freaking good ;)
    i think i would leave my dorm room and move to the asian section permantently and just camp there to not miss any of there amazing creations!
    yummy

  9. greensandjeans permalink
    March 4, 2010 11:38 am

    I’m pretty sure I would just want to live in the “Meds!” All of your food (and outfits!) just look killer! Can’t wait to see the pictures of you in your chef whites though!

  10. March 4, 2010 8:46 pm

    Holy Moly!
    You´re right – this is an amazing week of eats!
    Loved all the pics – meals AND outfits ;)
    It must be awesome to live where you´re now, haha.
    Have a great Friday, Bekah!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  11. March 4, 2010 10:25 pm

    Wow, so much good food!!! That carrot cake looks off-the-charts! And yay for tapas! – it’s fun to be able to try a little bit of everything. I love your “it’s all about balance” philosophy and how you believe in treating your body well, but not being afraid to eat dessert or something you normally don’t eat – basically doing what makes YOU feel healthy and happy.
    And I’ve been loving the pics of your super cute outfits because I have to dress business casual for grad school in the fall and your outfits are inspiring :)

  12. March 5, 2010 8:36 am

    I like the oatmeal with sprinkles what a wonderful idea!

  13. March 5, 2010 10:42 am

    Oh Beek, I resent myself for getting behind on your posts. You are flourishing :) I love how, even though you are currently in a school environment, you still link your culinary endeavors back to bloggers :P

  14. March 6, 2010 11:26 pm

    I love mornings too and eat alone every morning. I also think it is a special time, and unlike most of my friends, I really take time to make something good to start off my day. I also wanted to say I am jealous of your new bowl, and all of your MEDs eats!! This and Japanese food are in my top favorite food categories!

  15. March 7, 2010 8:53 pm

    whether alone or together…good eats are always enjoyed – for example the piece of carrot cake you have featured! MMMMM

  16. March 11, 2010 2:41 pm

    I love the sushi plate and your flowery top :) and I need to try that coconut-chia-granola … sounds yummy.

  17. eatspinlive permalink
    March 18, 2010 1:12 pm

    That oatmeal looks AMAZING! Marshmallows and SPRINKLES?! What a great combination :)

  18. March 19, 2010 9:57 pm

    Heabie’s right- totally approve of the pretzel oats! Love the sushi and the outfit with the super long cute Tshirt. And your super balanced and sane approach to food and eating and life. Gooooo Beeks!

Leave a Reply

