Skip to content

At a loss for words..

March 20, 2010

Aaahhhhhhhhh.  Where to begin???  I’ll start with a list.  How about that.

  1. I am way behind in life. My To-Do list is about two pages long.
  2. I never told you what my Product Knowledge professor thought of my kale salad!  He loved it!  (Alright.. I don’t know about “love”, but he did admit that I convinced him that raw kale can in fact be deemed “edible”.  Success!)
  3. Don’t even talk to me about “Google Reader”.  I honestly cannot remember the last time I even checked it. :(
  4. I successfully completed the first half of my first “block” (three weeks) in the kitchens, “Fish ID and Fabrication”; and I am now in the middle of “Meat ID and Fabrication”.  So much information and crazy busyness!  I’m trying to remind myself that this is college, and I simply don’t have time to do much of anything besides study and take care of myself.  Sadly, this is a fact that is hard to accept!
  5. WordPress is being a pain per usual, and I every time I feel like uploading pictures, I fail.
  6. I’m a whole TWO episodes behind on what is the final season of LOST.  What is my problem??  Not to mention I pretty much checked out of every show not available on Hulu.  What is the deal CW?? Don’t want to participate, do you?
  7. The sun is officially OUT in Hyde Park, New York.  Joy to the world.
  8. The good news is that part of my absence in blog-land is due to actually having a life!  Like, I’m making real friends!  One of the reasons why I originally was so enticed by the culinary arts was the camaraderie that is involved in the kitchens and on campus in general.  The first six weeks of “B-block” were nice and all, but let’s face it- not the most convenient time to make friends.  Kind of like a condensed version of Freshmen year in high school, if you know what I mean.
  9. 24 days until “Glee” returns!
  10. So much good eats to share with you!

Not very organized… but here are my last outfits of B-block, some of the eats of my last week of B-block, and some fun “dorm room eats” adventures!

Chobani plain, with coconut-chia-granola, and diced apple. There’s probably some tahini in there too.

Microwaved egg white brownie.  So. Ridiculously. Chocolatey!

The sad part.. it was too long ago to remember what I put into it; but I THINK it involved egg whites, protein powder, mashed banana, cocoa powder and vanilla extract.

A flat feta and spinach omelet with fresh fruit and ketchup from the Eveready Diner.

What my microwaved veggies usually look like:

Consisting of a mass amount of veggies, coconut butter, maple syrup, and water OR  tahini, maple syrup, and water.

Oats in a dark chocolate dreams jar.

More microwaved veggies and two slightly poached, but fried eggs.  I fried them in a dry fry pan in the dorm kitchen downstairs, and they stuck to the pan, and ended up being slightly poached.

Maple nut oats: 1/2 cup oats, water, cinnamon, vanilla extract, topped with maple syrup, almond butter, chocolate chips, and walnuts.

A trio of ceviche from Cuisines of Americas, with sweet potatoes!

Also from “Americas” chicken mole!  One of my favorite dishes ever.  And I get very excited when I come upon a chicken breast that is properly cooked.

Oats in an almost empty tahini can with honey!

Microwaved protein cake, a la Susan, a la April.

Salmon with a blackberry sauce that was amazing! Such a pretty plate too.

A few weeks ago.. FIRST sight of sunlight!

The ducks, or geese, or whatever are large and in charge, and the snow (now completely gone) is slowly melting away..

I thought the last Grand Buffet would be enough foodie excitement to last me an entire year.. but apparently not, because I approached this one with even more zeal and zest than the last one.  It was BAD.  I didn’t slow down by taking pictures this time either, knowing full well I wasn’t about to write another post dedicated to the “Grand Buffet”, when the gist of it had already been written about.  It was overwhelming and not fun.  As much as I love this food, sometimes I do get stressed out about the abundance of it, and whether or not I should be taking advantage of that abundance.

It is fun however filling up the small plates and interacting among the buffet tables, but once you get back to your table, you already feel like you’ve eaten it all, when you haven’t even touched a single item!

Like I said… BAD.

Greek yogurt with a crumbled 18 Rabbits granola bar.

So there you have it!  Better late than never, right? I may start posting more regular short posts, due to the OVERWHELMING amount of information I receive on a daily basis.  It is hard because I want to share it with the world, yet I have no motivation to either write cleverly or organize weeks and weeks of photos and notes when the time comes to write a post.  We will see how it goes…

For now, thanks for sticking with me on this wild ride!  I honestly do not know how the college students of blog-land manage their life, school, work AND a blog.  I get that it is an outlet of sorts, but like everything else, it can become stressful too!

Happy Sunday and rest up!  I know I’m not the only one that is completely exhausted.  So, enjoy your day off my friends!

♥ ♥

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly permalink
    March 20, 2010 8:41 pm

    Darling!!

    I am so glad to hear from you! I just realized we have the same pointy/lace black shoes. Your outfits are so adorable, though! I love your smile in the picture with the gray scarf! ;) And those protein cakes! My goodness, I must try! <33 Hope you are enjoying your whirlwind life! Enjoy every minute of it!!

  2. March 20, 2010 10:49 pm

    hey love!
    totally agreed-it CAN be stressful blogging!!! your eats look AMAZING..gahh all your oat creations! and your outfits-you are adorable!

  3. March 21, 2010 12:55 am

    Totally feel ya. College is a hectic land of funness, craziness, and business. Glad you’re meeting tons of friends! You’ll figure out the blog thing…if you need to take a break, go for it girl! I’ll follow you either way ;)

  4. March 21, 2010 2:24 am

    So glad to hear you having a life, making REAL life friends and enjoying your awesome adventure! love the protein cakes despite not being able to eat eggs, they look so easy and I could make those for Scott or skylar.
    Love the outfits you’re in…gosh, you’re all grown up now :)
    Beekkkkks, have a great weekend as I know you will!
    xoxo

  5. March 21, 2010 5:44 am

    Happy Sunday Beeks,
    So happy to hear you’re getting some sunshine. Hope it sticks around for a while.

    OK, grand buffet looks amazing, but again, I’d be just as happy with veggies and coconut butter followed by oats in the tahini can in your dorm room. :)

    I knew your professor would enjoy your raw kale salad. :)

  6. March 21, 2010 6:38 am

    That guy(server) in the buffet picture is totally giving you the eye, haha! Tahini goodness, nothing is better. And wow, the chicken mole looked awesome. We live vicariously through you since you have a life! haha. Great post, feel free to post WHENEVER, no rush. thanks Beka!

  7. greensandjeans permalink
    March 21, 2010 9:48 am

    Love the skirts! We love reading your updates, but no pressure lady! Enjoy the amazing life you’re living right now!

  8. March 21, 2010 11:41 am

    Wow, Bekah!
    There´s definetely a LOT going on right now!
    I´m having the same issue – execept I can hardly find time to BREATH!
    Hahahahaha. Thank God for the weekend ;)
    By the way – have a TERRIFIC one, girl!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  9. March 21, 2010 1:17 pm

    you are awesome!! i love this blog :D

    • March 21, 2010 1:19 pm

      sorry i didnt know i was “logged on” to your name its not from a secret person anymore.. oops

      • March 21, 2010 3:23 pm

        mahahah ^ from the roomie! love her!

  10. March 21, 2010 1:29 pm

    You? A loss for words? Never!

    Great to hear that you are making real friends as we are so unreal-bahaha! :-) seriously, that’s what it is allll about. Go out there and live the vida loca and don’t worry about bloggie obligations.

    Love the layered outfit- the crop sweater … so cute.

    How does an egg start fried and end poached hmmm?

    Love the photo in the sunlight and the fact that you said, ducks geese whatever. hahaha

    Glad to see someone bitching about wordpress for a change :-)

    Yes food can be totally overwhelming when there’s just so much of it- and who is the cute boy staring at you in the grand buffet photo?? ;-)

    I vote for shorter more frequent posts. I’ll admit that if I know a post is long/wordy I’ll save it in my reader and sometimes it’s weeks before I get to it :-( I’m guilty of this myself.

    Have a wonderful weekend!!

  11. March 21, 2010 1:30 pm

    PS The mole is a dead ringer for the one I had in Mexico- did I post that photo yet or not? I have one last post about mexico coming up and there’s a twin chicken mole I ate- nom best meal of the year perhaps. NOM.

  12. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    March 21, 2010 3:07 pm

    aww Bekah it seems like you are enjoying yourself sO MUCH at school! i am so glad you aer finally finding “real friends” and i know eXACTLY what you mean by that because at hte beginning of school it is just awkward. Your experience is so unique and so awesome, i am incredibly jeal! haha. that feast looks to dieee for. Hope you have a great week!!!

    xoxoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  13. Alexis permalink
    March 21, 2010 4:50 pm

    All your texts look so awesome and professional :)

  14. March 21, 2010 8:30 pm

    GREAT to hear from you. you are really living life to the fullest and it makes me smile real big. don’t even stress about blog reading (although it sounds like you aren’t, good job) and just keep remembering your adventures so you can show us when you have a moment! glad you are making friends and memories. i love you to the moon!

  15. March 22, 2010 8:33 am

    Hang in there, girl! I’m glad to here you’re making friends, which is a great reason to step away a bit from the blog. I love your posts and I really, really want to eat the Grand Buffet. Like really.

  16. March 22, 2010 12:57 pm

    You poor overworked thing! I don’t know how others find so much time to blog (more than once a day!), do school work, AND have a life, either! It’s a lot of work, this blog thing, but rewarding at the same time.

    Good luck with your culinary school adventure. Looks like you’re learning lots, eating well, and teaching your professors a thing or two about truly healthy foods (yum to kale!).
    :)

  17. March 22, 2010 2:15 pm

    Oats ‘n’ tahini? I think that’s a first for blog world : )

    – The Nutrition Nut

  18. March 23, 2010 4:27 pm

    I’ve missed you, dear girl. And you’re looking as cute as usual :-)
    What IS all this homework in CIA? I thought all you do is cook and have fun. Ok, I’m oversimplifying things…but I really didn’t think there were so much hw!

  19. March 23, 2010 7:43 pm

    I hear you on the a million things to do list! I really love your food choices..please find that egg white brownie recipe!!

    xoxo
    Maggie

  20. March 24, 2010 1:59 pm

    I have learned something new today, thanks for sharing

  21. March 25, 2010 9:27 am

    I’m behind on Reader too! That’s why I’m getting to this amazing post so late. School/work/social life always comes before blog! I do not blame you in the least. Especially when you have so many plates of delicious food to deal with. That picture of the table with all the plates during the grand buffet is hilarious! And now I reeeeeally want to try chicken mole, that looks su-perb.

    Dude, if you haven’t caught up on Lost yet, I highly suggest you find the time to watch this week’s episode. It was SO good.

    Heart you Beek!!

  22. March 26, 2010 1:37 pm

    Glad you are still doing well – I TOTALLY hear you with not having time for anything anymore. My school work is also keeping me off the blogs =( So sad to miss out on stuff, but you know, priorities and all!! haha…Good luck to you, keep up the great work!!

  23. March 27, 2010 1:12 pm

    i love seeing pics and hearing about life going to college at the CIA!! i always wanted to go there when i was younger, and i love the campus!
    totally agreed blogging can get quite stressful and i am behind on commenting etc as well! but thanks for the lovely comment on my post lovie, you are so sweet, and so cute in your pics with your chefs hat! :) hmm i just had a thought lol you should go on top chef, or something, i can totally see you doing that, you’d rock it! :)

    love you babe
    xx
    eliza

Leave a Reply

